Current Giveaways!

Check Back Later Please.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Passion by Lauren Kate

Synopsis:

Luce would die for Daniel.

And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way. . . .

Luce is certain that something—or someone—in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime . . . going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history.

Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames . . . forever.

Sweeping across centuries, PASSION is the third novel in the unforgettably epic FALLEN series.

Borrowed it from a friend!
Review:

This book was like a mini-movie. We were allowed the privilege of tagging along with Luce as she travels through an Announcer and visits her past lives in order to learn more and understand better the relationship of hers and Daniels star-crossed love.

I liked the thought of being able to travel back and visit the past lives. It was interesting to see the predicaments that Luce's lives always seemed to get into while falling in love with Daniel. She also lived a variety, no plain jane for this main character.

What I didn't like was the fact that time and time again Luce got in trouble and waited for Daniel to come and save her. I have never been one to enjoy the whole damsel in distress scene.
I did think it was incredibly sweet that Daniel came up with a way to make Luce's past lives last moments less agonizing.
Memorable Quote:
"How many times have I told you, I will always find you."

Favorite Charachter:
Cam, he proved the dangers of having a broken heart. He trully had my sympathy's as his small tale was told and we learned how he came to be how he was in modern day.


Rating: 3.5 Stars!

Torment by Lauren Kate

Synopsis:
Hell on earth.

That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.
It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts—immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.

At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something—something dangerous.
What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?

The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series . . . where love never dies.


Bought it with my own Money!

Review:
This was not the first time I have picked the book up and tried to push through it, in fact the first time I did pick up Torment I found that I could not get even halfway through.

Perhaps I was in a different state of mind or I just had a hankering for something else, either way I finally was able to finish it this time around.

I have mixed feelings about the book sadly.

It still will remain on my bookshelf if not just for the cover alone, which is stunning. The Fallen series has absolutely beautiful cover art.

I did like that the character's had a lot of spunk, some of them were not afraid to say what they thought. The characters were very strong if not a bit repetitive in personalities which is normal given the way people actually are.

I was not a fan of Daniel, the over protectiveness and bossiness of the angel seriously tested my patience, been through it once and never again. So I completely understood Luce's frustration.

I did like the ending, I believe it was my favorite out of the entire book.

Favorite Charrie: Arriane, I always love the girls who kick butt.
Rating: 2.5 Stars!

Fractured Light by McClellan (ARC Review)

Synopsis:
I’m dying, I thought. This was unexpected and not at all how I envisioned my death. I was supposed to die gardening in a flowerbed as a hundred-year-old woman, not as a seventeen-year-old trapped in a lake beneath inches of ice.

Llona Reese is used to living on the run. After the Vykens killed her parents, she knew they would eventually come for her too. She can’t take any chances. But when she starts to make friends for the first time in her life, she gets careless and lets her guard down. Big mistake.

As an Aura, Llona can manipulate light and harness its energy. But if she wants to survive, Llona will have to defy the Auran Council and learn to use her power as a weapon against the Vyken whose sole desire is to take her light. Now she’s caught in something even bigger than she can understand, with a power she can’t wield, and no one she can trust, except, just maybe, a mysterious stranger.

In this breathtaking and romantic adventure, Rachel McClellan delivers a truly mesmerizing story that will keep you guessing to the very end.


Review Request.

Review:
At first this was a slow starter for me, and I feared that it would be like so many books I have recently read, one that I would have to force myself to push through, I think one of my main problems was that I was a little lost in the begging, luckily for me as I progressed through the book I was glad that I kept with it. Everything was explained and I found myself relating to Llona and the fact that she kept everyone at arms length in high school because it was dangerous. Both parents dead, she has lived a life relying mainly on herself.

Then to add to the fact that a forbidden love interest is thrown into the mix, you can't help but fall in love with the characters in the book as the plot unfolds.

I will say that I did find the big bad of the book to be predictable, perhaps it is because I read so much but either way it was still a great fight to the finish.
I am hoping there shall be more to read about in a sequel


Favorite Character: Matt. Just something about him was more memorable then the others.
Rating: 4 Stars!

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Teaser Tuesday!

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:
"Your heart, my heart,
lone prison,
 trapped for all eternity,
 eternal cage of freedom.


The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Synopsis:
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister Primrose, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister's place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before — and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love


Bought it from the Amazon Kindle Store.

I was not sure about this book going into it. I mainly picked it up because more then one of my good friends guaranteed that I would love it and even threatened in good nature of course, to beat me up if I did not at least give it a shot.

After reading it I am still kind of Eh about it. While it was not the worst one I have read by far, neither is it the best. If you are a fan of the strategic action packed genre then this is the one for you. What I found so hard to believe and wrap my mind about was the fact that grown adults let children, some as young as twelve fight to the death. Perhaps I am just hopelessly optimistic but I just cannot see any one not starting an out and out riot over the fact that kids were killing one another. I for one would not want the victor to grow up with that much mental damage and the knowledge of how to kill another, sometimes even so brutally.

I did like the fact that in the end it was not brute strength that won it for them, it was brains that gave them the advantage over them all.

I will say the writer was able to draw enough emotion out of me that as I read it and as certain characters died I was sad for their loss and that to me is the sign of a good writer even if I was not a particular fan of the book.
It is one I will recommend to the ones who enjoy such genre's


Rating: 3.5 Stars!
Favorite Charrie: Rue, She had to have been the sweetest girl ever  I was rooting for her all the way up to the end.

Darkness Rising By Keri Arthur

Synopsis:
Risa will go to any lengths to avenge her mother’s murder—even if it means making a pact with the most evil vampire she’s ever met. Lethal and powerful, Madeline Hunter is leader of the vampire council, and will put her resources behind finding the killer—for a price. The venerable vampire requires the assistance of Risa’s psychic powers. Quid pro quo.

Someone—or something—is targeting the elders of the local council, cursing the immortal vampires to rapidly age, sink into madness, and die. Risa must track down the vengeful being responsible. But Risa’s father, a rogue Aedh priest, also enlists her in a dangerous mission. And not even the great Madeline Hunter may be able to protect her from the shadowy forces that desire nothing less than Risa’s destruction


Bought it with my own money!

Review:
With Rissa's story it is like being put in a  time machine when I first opened up and became of Riley's journey all those years ago. The two just seem to follow in each other's footsteps as they had to have faced adventure and trouble one after another and become twisted and tangled in a messy love triangle.

And I love every second of it. Keri Arthur is one of my favorite author's, her books line my shelf's and she is always one of the author's I fly to the shelves to buy.

My one problem with this book was what happened to Tao, I just could not believe it! I don't want to be a spoiler so I will leave it at that but it truly drew such emotion from me that I actually found myself worrying about how he and Illena would end up, which the second book does not tell unfortunately, but understandably as I am sure the third will explain and they need to sell books. I am eagerly awaiting the next addition so I can sigh and think back on my life as I read Riley's journey. Also I want to figure out who that mystery man is that is being revealed as the new big bad villian.

Rating:
4.5 Stars!
Favorite Charrie:
Azriel, because he thinks he stands a chance fighting against love.

Sunday, December 25, 2011

(Arc Review) Unleashed by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie

Synopsis:
Katelyn McBride’s life changed in an instant when her mother died. Uprooted from her California home, Katelyn was shipped to the middle of nowhere, Arkansas, to her only living relative, her grandfather. And now she has to start over in Wolf Springs, a tiny village in the Ozark Mountains. Like any small town, Wolf Springs has secrets. But the secrets hidden here are more sinister than Katelyn could ever imagine. It’s a town with a history that reaches back centuries, spans continents, and conceals terrifying truths. And Katelyn McBride is about to change everything.

Broken families, ageless grudges, forced alliances, and love that blooms in the darkest night—welcome to Wolf Springs.

I won it in a Random  Buzzer's Arc Giveaway!

Review:
Stay out of the woods at night and don't go out into the dark alone. Those were the rules so often repeated through out the entire novel and as you read through it you understand why.
One girl after the next is mauled to pieces out in those woods with no clue other then some mysterious animal that they cannot seem to capture is the culprit. Just a mess of flesh.

This is one suspenseful twist after other and unlike most paranormal novel the cards are kept relatively close at hand until the book is starting to slope towards the end. You have to work for the hints that are there right in front of you, just like everyone . Just as I thought the book was coming to a close the author threw me for a loop and tossed out a cliff hanger ending that left me extremely frustrating and wanting the sequel in my hands right this moment.

I think the only thing that kind of bugged me was that the main character was from a big city and came off shallow and to make fun of a small town. Yes I can understand having moved from a small town from the big city, so it was not to big of a problem for me. I didn't like the twist towards the end that one of the characters attitude took, because it seemed just thrown out there to add a plot twist for the next book.



Favorite Charrie: Justin, I don't know what it is about that bad boy that you are suppose to stay away from but he always wins my heart in the books.

Rating:
4.5 Stars!

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater


Synopsis:
Grace and Sam share a kinship so close they could be lovers or siblings. But they also share a problem. When the temperature slips towards freezing, Sam reverts to his wolf identity and must retreat into the woods to protect his pack. He worries that eventually his human side will fade away and he will be left howling alone at the lonely moon. A stirring supernatural teen romance.

Bought it from the Amazon Kindle Store.

Review:
I know this book has been very active in the reader's scene, in fact for the most part I have had nothing but fabulous reviews, so I decided to see what all the fuss was about.

I was excited to get the book, Finally, I would have a chance to delve in and see what has everyone so fascinated about it.


Unfortunately the book was just not for me. The point of view switched way to much for my taste and it seemed like the characters were just a little to bland. I am a believer in love at first sight but I don't think it happens as intensely as possible right off the bat.


It was beautifully written, reminding me more of the epic poems then an actual story.


I did think the take on werewolves was unique and I enjoyed the fact the author decided to go a new direction instead of following the every day shifting part.


Rating:
2.5 Stars!

My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent

Synopsis:
    When Kaylee Cavanaugh screams, someone dies.
So when teen pop star Eden croaks onstage and Kaylee doesn't wail, she knows something is dead wrong. She can't cry for someone who has no soul.
     The last thing Kaylee needs right now is to be skipping school, breaking her dad's ironclad curfew and putting her too-hot-to-be-real boyfriend's loyalty to the test. But starry-eyed teens are trading their souls: a flickering lifetime of fame and fortune in exchange for eternity in the Netherworld—a consequence they can't possibly understand.
Kaylee can't let that happen, even if trying to save their souls means putting her own at risk….
Got it by buying it for the Amazon Kindle!

Review:
This book brings a whole new meaning to selling your soul to the devil in order to gain osomething grand. The only difference is that Kaylee and Nash have to go up against rogue reapers yet again and a hellion who has a taste for young teenage souls. that are being traded for their chance to shine in the spotlight of fame.

This was a pretty fast paced book but it is kind of expected given the time frame they were handed along with such a severe sitaution. How are you suppose to find the hellion Someone sold their soul to, and negotiate the out clause in just a week's time? What I think I liked most about this book though was the fact that even though the eternal soul rested on the shoulders of two teenager's, they were still treated like teenager's keeping a secret from one of their parent's. Like any dad should act when his daughter sneeks out and cannot be found, Kaylee's dad even threatends to go to the police if she hasn't contacted him by a certain time, because he is kept in the dark she also gets a month's worth of grounding


Favorite Charrie:
 Levi, aside from the fact he shares a name with one of my ex's, I liked the big reveal of what the big bad boss man in charge looked like, I litterally started to grin while reading.


Rating:
3.5stars!

Monday, December 19, 2011

Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer (Nightshade #2)

Synopsis:
You're an alpha, a leader. That's what we need. It's what we've always needed. When Calla Tor wakes up in the lair of the Searchers, her sworn enemies, she's certain her days are numbered. Then the Searchers make her an offer, one that gives her the chance to destroy her former masters and save her pack ? and the boy ? she left behind.Is Ren worth the price of her freedom? Will Shay stand by her side no matter what?Now in control of her destiny, Calla must decide which battles are worth fighting and how many trials love can endure

 Bought it with my own monies!
Review:
I am not ashamed to say that immediately finishing Nightshade, I went and bought Wolfsbane for the kindle, letting it download as I waited on customers. I both love and despise the cliff hanger ending's that each came to a conclusion with, but I am getting ahead of myself.

Wolfsbane starts off almost exactly where Nightshade ended, much to my delight. There were no time lapses where you were left wondering, well what happened while I was away. It picked up, right in Calla's shoes as she regained consciousness.  Shay and Calla find themselves in an enemy stronghold where they began to understand the extent of the lies they were raised on.

Calla is without her pack and extremely worried about the effects her actions will have on them.

There was a lot of good in this book, but there was sadly a lot of parts I did not like.  One of them being how weak Calla seemed to have changed into. She was always so strong and take charge, but it seemed like with everything she became those whining little girls who expect things handed to them on a silver platter.

 I also refused to believe the plot twit that occurred where Ren is concerned. I do not doubt for a second how much he loves Calla, and because of that I do think that if you love someone that much no way would you act the way Ren did.

 Favorite charrie:
Connor, I loved his comedic relief, it actually had me grinning in parts and it reminded me of my best friends.

Quotes:
1." Ethan and Connor think their man hood is equal to the amount of steel they have tucked beneath their clothing."

Rating:
4.5

Nightshade by Andrea Cremer (Nightshade #1)

 Synopsis:
Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything- including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

Got it with my own monies






Review:
I was very excited to get this book, sure I bought the e-book myself even though I much prefer print copies, I just could not wait. It was the cover art that first drew me in, the picture was just absolutely stunning and lucky for me, the story turned out to be as well.

The character's in the novel are very well thought through, each of them strong and rounded, perhaps one of my favorite that shows just how realistic the characters were created, was the fact that there was a gay couple within the pack's, and as you might imagine, not everyone agreed with it. Despite being told by the Alpha, that they needed to suck it up and deal with it because they were in full support of the relationship, words were exchanged as well as a couple of punches and instead of it rolling through as if it was no big deal. The alpha's actually punished those who were in the wrong.

That was another thing that I liked about this book. I have noticed a lot of the time, author's forget the wolf hierarchy that comes with werewolves,this one was obviously not one of those cases. To me they seemed to follow the wolf hierarchy pretty close, even to the point on who eats first.

I did have a little bit of mixed feelings when it came to the main character Calla, I liked her personality, and the fact that it seemed well balanced, not to sweet so everyone loves her and not to witchy so everyone hates her. What really disappointed me was Calla's reaction to Shay. I felt that she was practically engaged and arranged marriage or not, she had been serious with it and Ren definitely drew some sort of emotion out of her but she still seemed to not act as if she were engaged and that bothered me.

The big fight scene at the end also seemed a little rushed for my taste but it left off in a way that I immediately went and bout the sequel so it could have possibly been the point.


Favorite Charrie: 

Ren. He is one fine piece of beef cake and his actions in the end sealed the deal where I am concerned.

Quotes:
1. " I swallowed a groan, searching for any clothes I particularly wanted to protect, and sat on top of my Republicans for Voldermort hoodie."
2. "I've got a bottle full of hydrochloric acid in my hand, Ren. Don't piss me off."
3. " I didn't have these boobs until you cinched it up.

Rating: 
5 Stars!

 

Teaser Tuesday's!

I'm very excited to be one of the many blogs participating in Teaser Tuesdays! TT is a weekly meme hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. To participate:


* Grab your current read
* Open to a random page
* Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
* BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS!
(Make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
* Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

And drum roll please...:

"And I want, in those silent, somehow faltering times, to be with someone who knows, or else alone. I want to reflect everything about you, and I never want to be to blind or too ancient to keep your wavering image with me. I want to unfold. I don't want to be folded anywhere,because there, where I'm folded, I'm a lie."


Page 200 of Shiver by Maggi Stiefvater

Saturday, December 17, 2011

Beckoning Light by Alyssa Rose Ivy

Synopsis:
As Charlotte steps through the gate, she has a strong feeling that nothing will ever be the same again.

Moving back to South Carolina after three years away, Charlotte knows she's going to have to face people from her past and adjust to a new high school, but she's completely unprepared for what else waits for her in Charleston.

Drawn through an old garden gate, Charlotte discovers a hidden world where she meets Calvin, a boy to whom she is inexplicably attracted. As Charlotte is pulled deeper into this hidden world, it's up to her older brother Kevin to rescue her. No matter how hard Kevin tries, the rescue depends upon Charlotte fighting her intense feelings for Calvin while mastering a set of abilities that she has only just discovered she possesses

Got it as a Review Request!

Review:
I was a little iffy when I started to read this, It was about two siblings who find another world, and it was written in such a raw way that for most people it wouldn't work. Luckily it didn't effect the story at all, in fact, the story was so good it seemed to add to it, as if it was written by one of the main characters' in a rush to get everything written down as it happened. There are no polished edges like most novels have and it was not long before worry turned into anticipation as I found my self addicted to turning the pages and finding out what happened next.
 
This novel had just about everything in it a great story needs to survive. Love , secrets death and intrigue all in one action packed package. I definitely cannot wait to get my hands on the next in the trilogy.


Rating: 4
Favorite Charrie: Samantha, gotta love a girl who can kick but and take names, especially when a guy thinks girls can't fight.

Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

Synopsis:


The noise between Patch and Nora is gone. They've overcome the secrets riddled in Patch's dark past...bridged two irreconcilable worlds...faced heart-wrenching tests of betrayal, loyalty and trust...and all for a love that will transcend the boundary between heaven and earth. Armed with nothing but their absolute faith in one another, Patch and Nora enter a desperate fight to stop a villain who holds the power to shatter everything they've worked for—and their love—forever

Borrowed it from a friend

Review:
I was excited to crack open this book, it was not long before I had finished the cliff hanger ending of the second and was throwing it down in frustration that I scrambled for Silence. I think one of the best aspects of this story was that no matter what Patch did or tried to do, the two always found their way back together. It is like the Chinese proverb that talks about the red thread of destiny.
Another amusing aspect was that Nora just could not seem to stay out trouble no matter what she did and as usual Patch always rode in on the proverbial white stead as her white knight.

rating: 5
Favorite Charrie: Scott, he risked so much just to help her.

Caressed by Moonlight By Amanda J. Greene

Synopsis:
 

Dorian Vlakhos is no ordinary aristocrat. He is a vampire king, who will do anything to save his clan from complete annihilation, before an ancient curse can claim his immortal life.

Penniless and orphaned, Victoria Kingston has nothing to bring to a marriage, yet she must shackle an unsuspecting gentleman into marriage by the end of the month or forfeit her rights as guardian of her younger sister. With the help of her dearest friend, Victoria begins her hunt, and vows to stay far away from the dark, mysterious, Prince Vlakhos.

After meeting the beautifully innocent Miss Kingston, Dorian had to have her. He would do absolutely anything to make Victoria his. One sweet stolen kiss would bring them together while a force, more powerful than any vampire would bind them for all eternity. But treachery, war, and death rule Dorian’s dark world and Victoria would be fortunate to survive





Got it as a Review Request


Review:
This was a unique romance, it tied together the historical romance aspect that I am a sucker for, along with the paranormal vampire one in this unique twist that was absolutely amazing and totally worked.
 
The big bad vampire king that is fighting off the darkness, rises to the occasion and becomes the hero, the white knight every little girl dreams of that swoops in and saves the day even though love was the last thing on either of the main characters minds. Yes, I am sure Victoria  was hoping for it but given her time frame I am sure she doubted it would happen.  Just as such a weakness like love could not have come at a worse time as someone tried to usurp his crown and take over his clan. But like most cases the heart wants what it wants.

Rating: 4.5
Favorite Charrie: Victoria, I love a woman who does what needs to be done without any whining. 

Sunday, December 11, 2011

The Legend of Witch Bane by Kevis Hendrickson

Synopsis:
An exciting quest awaits three young children!
The evil Queen Rhiannon EldessKaldan under an enchantment of sleep. Only the royal children: Kodobos, Anyr, and Laris can save their people from a dark fate. Danger awaits the children as they face an endless horde of evil foes in their quest to save their kingdom. But to gain final victory the children must find the legendary sword Witch Bane which will give them the power to defeat Rhiannon once and for all! Will they fail or will they succeed? Prepare for the adventure of a lifetime!

Got it as a Review Request.




Review:
This was one of those books that made me wish that I had children. So I could tuck them in and sit before a fire, a dog at my feet sleeping while I read this book to them.
It made me think of someone reading a tale to me aloud, the way my grandmother did. It was created in a way that felt as if it was just a story being passed down they way they use to before books. Through good old story telling.

I liked how there was more then one fairy tale incorporated through this if you know where to look and being the fairy tale junkie that I am, I immediatly siezed them up.

Yes, someone dies that left me stunned as I was rooting for them to find happiness at the finish line but in the end they have the last say in things


Rating:
4.5

Blue Moon Review by Alyson Noel

Synopsis:  Just as Ever is learning everything she can about her new abilities as an immortal, initiated into the dark, seductive world by her beloved Damen, something terrible is happening to him. As Ever’s powers are increasing, Damen’s are fading—stricken by a mysterious illness that threatens his memory, his identity, his life.

Desperate to save him, Ever travels to the mystical dimension of Summerland, uncovering not only the secrets of Damen’s past—the brutal, tortured history he hoped to keep hidden—but also an ancient text revealing the workings of time. With the approaching blue moon heralding her only window for travel, Ever is forced to decide between turning back the clock and saving her family from the accident that claimed them—or staying in the present and saving Damen, who grows weaker each day...
Borrowed from a Friend


Review:  So we are brought back to reincarnated love and the trouble that follows them through the ages. It just seems like everyone is out to get these two love birds. They are exactly as the blog is titled, Star-crossed.
I can't help but feel sorry for Ever when she realizedsed that she had been forgotten by the one person who means the most to her, her love. I know I would have been a complete and total wreck if my fiance forgot me in the time frame of just one passing day, and then proceeded to treat me the way Damen treated her. While I liked that it showed this other side to him, because everyone always has this side they hide from the other, it still was rather sad to read about.
I did like the twist the villain was able to pull off, for once there is no happy ending and while I am ever the romantic I have gotten tired of knowing how books or movies will end because they think everyone loves a happy ending.
I do think it will be interesting to see how they push through it though.
Favorite Charrie: Miles
Rating: 3.5

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Evermore by Alyson Noel

Synopsis-
Since a horrible accident claimed the lives of her family, sixteen-year-old Ever can see auras, hear people’s thoughts, and know a person’s life story by touch. Going out of her way to shield herself from human contact to suppress her abilities has branded her as a freak at her new high school—but everything changes when she meets Damen Auguste . . .

Ever sees Damen and feels an instant recognition. He is gorgeous, exotic and wealthy, and he holds many secrets. Damen is able to make things appear and disappear, he always seems to know what she’s thinking—and he’s the only one who can silence the noise and the random energy in her head. She doesn’t know who he really is—or what he is. Damen equal parts light and darkness, and he belongs to an enchanted new world where no one ever dies.







Got it by borrowing it from a friend.
Review:
I picked this book up after reaeding seers and Darcus noticed that there were many similarities. So since I like to maky my own mind up about things, I gave it a try seeing as I loved Seers.

I have seen this series in wal-mart time and time again, each time I found mysel stopping to admire the cover art but I always seemed to have a better book to buy or I thought it was to young adult for me, so I never picked it up. I was pleasantly surprised that althought it was a highschool drama, the amount of emotion put behind the charrachters was truly fascinating.

I liked how there was a creepy stalker lady, also known as Drina. Because we all know there are those crazies out there with every man or woman you date who just wont let go. So it was realistic in that sense, I see it almost every day at my work but at least they didn't go as far as Drina did... to my knowledge.
The part that was most relatable and drew the most emotion for me, was when Ever had to talk her sister into moving on. I just could not imagine having to tell my younger sister that it was ok to go.

Favorite Charrie: Haven. Yes it is bad to say but she was described as a human being, in the real world, even best friends get jealous when the other friend gets the guys attention.
Rating: 4 Stars!

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

R.A.K November Wrap up.

So this was the very first time I have recieved a R.A.K and lucky me I got it twice. Yes they were the same book but they were in different formats. I am a print person myself, so any book I  read on the Kindle or e-reader that I love I put it on my to buy list so my library grows.

I recieved Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder from Shellie who sent me an Amazon Kindle Adition first and then later on that week Emily sent me an e-mail letting me know she would send me a U.K. addition to it.

I want to thank you both, I am so gratefull and so very thank full. You both are at the top of my list once my fiances even out. Saddly I was unable to R.A.K. this month due to one emergency after the next, mother in law fell fifteen feet and landed on her face, fracturing the entire side of her face and broke some bones, then our cars act up. So, it has been tough but I have every intention of gifting one as soon as I can and I urge others to do so aswell.
Random Acts of Kindness is such a wonderfull thing that got started.
Thank You!

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Starcrossed 500 Giveaway!

So as you may or may not know, I first got into reviewing with my friend Darcus and I review with her on her blog. Starcrossed Reviews. We have recently passed our 500 follower mark and boy were we exctied, actually we are close to 600 now. Anyway, as a thank you I am gonna try and get the word out since her blog is waaaay better then mine as she has been doing it. So head over to Starcrossed Reviews where two winners, open to the US and INT will win a good number of awesome books. http://tinyurl.com/cuhpple
 

Poison Study Review

Summary:About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace—and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia.

And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly's Dust—and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonizing death from the poison.

As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can't control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren't so clear…



Got it as a RAK. Thanks so much to Emily who sent me a Print Copy and to Shellie who sent it to me via amazon! You guys are awesome sauce and made my month as it was my first RAK ever!

Review:This was a re-read for me. When I first found this I am not gonna lie, it was one of those books I picked out just to pick the library pile that I was borrowing, the cover art was just stunning and still is dispite the different versions I have come across.

Yelena, our main charrachter is a heroin with, dare I say it.. a brain! And one she use quite often as she gets herself out of one situation after the next without waiting to be rescued. She was saved from the gallows only to find herself as the Comanders new food tester, a tast that could be worse then death as her trainer Valek, tests her often to make sure she isn't getting lax in her job.

I liked the detail and thought that was put in to describing the way poisons work. She told us that some could sink to the bottom or float so Yelena had to take bites from numerous places in the food so no one could guess where she tasted and she had to stir the drinks to make sure she was getting an even taste. I liked the way the poisons were described, such as the different types of sweet tastes there can be. There really was alot of thought put into it.

In the end I loved the twists that will throw you for a loop towards the end and the love interests that start to develope.

Favorite Charrie: The Power House twins. You will get it once you've read it. XD
Rating: 5 stars

Crescendo Review

Got it by borrowing it from the boss lady:
Summary:
Nora Grey's life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn't pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it: a mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But, despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He's more elusive than ever and even worse, he's started spending time with Nora's arch-enemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadnt been acting so distant. Even with Scott's totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him - despite her lingering feeling that he's hiding something.

Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly in dangerous situations as she desperately searches for answers. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything - and everyone - she trusts

Review:
I think the thing I liked most about this, was how jealous Nora got. It was completely realistic and made you relate easier with the charachters because they were not perfect. I can't blame her for her reaction, or the pain she felt when she came to it.

It made me think back to the days when I was faced with the similar problem she went through in this book. I am not going to say what it is and give it away, but all the while I was reading it, I looked up every now and then and told my friend. "Ooooh you're gonna be mad when you read this."

It was the villian of this novel that I must applaud, even though about halfway through the turn of events I guessed who it would be, it was still geniusly executed and one I am sure left many readers just sitting there with their mouths open stunned.

I am excited for the third book which I just started because the ending of the second was somewhat a cliff hanger and proving that there can be more then one villian in a book.


Favorite Charrie: The main villian. Not gonna say a name because it would give it away but it is worth reading to find out.

Rating: 5 stars

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Teaser Tuesday's

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading.Anyone can play along! Just do the following:



  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 "Did you hear something Nora?" Vee asked, "  I thought I heard something.
"You deffinatly heard something," I agreed
"Could that be a dog fart I heard?" Vee asked me.
"I nodded. "I think so."

I am so Sorry!

This month has been extremely hectic for me. I had a huge family emergency that has to this day actually kept me hopping.
I fell extremely behind with NaNoWriMo, so it bummed me out.
So I do apologize that this blog isn't up to the standards I want it to be. Just hang in with me a little bit more.
I am getting ready to put up a giveaway and I am looking into Joining a hop.
Thank you for hanging in there with me. I am truly blessed.

Friday, November 11, 2011

My Soul to Take by Rachel Vincent Review


Bought it via Kindle
Summary:

She doesn't see dead people, but...

She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who'll be next...

Review:
I was a little iffy about starting this series, between mixed reviews and the synopsis sounding a little to young for me, it was not at the top of my to read list.
But I have these as I like to call them, it is where I just get so hooked on a certain author that no matter what the book or how good it may be, it just does not do it for me. Some people crave food, I crave certain books. So I was on a Rachel Vincent Kick and decided to give My Soul to Take a try.

Boy am I glad that I did. Where the popular paranormal are werewolves, vampires, angels and yes even fairy's, I was glad to find someone writing about something a little less known about.

I will say that it was a fast read, where some parts I knew exactly what waited around the corner and others completely blew me away.

Favorite Charrie:
Tod. Best reaper ever!

Rating:
4

Blood Bound Review By Rachel Vincent

Bought it Via Kindle
Summary:
Bound by blood, condemned by fate

As a bloodtracker, Liv is extremely powerful. And in a world where power is a commodity that can get you killed, Liv's learnt to survive by her own rules.

Rule number one? Trust no one.

But when a friend's daughter goes missing, Liv is bound by a potent magical oath. She can't rest until the child is safe.
And that means trusting her dangerous ex, Cam.

A sinister prophecy tells that she and Cam will be the death of each other, yet Liv's tired of being a slave to destiny. She's ready to play the forces controlling her world at their own game.

No matter what the cost
Review:
This book is one of the few that completely rocked my world It literally tore the rug right out from under my feet and left me stunned speechless.
I will admit when I first started reading the book I was confused and in the first chapter about every other page I kept flipping back to the first trying to see if I had come in mid-series.
But all was revealed and just as I thought I knew the who done it, it turned out I couldn’t have been more wrong.
This book reminded me a lot of the movie Push, just done Way Way better. It went so much more into depth and explained the powers better than the movie did.
The ending was what really got me. It was ingeniously written and it pretty much guaranteed sales for book two, (There had better be a book two that is), but as a reader I wanted to scream in frustration.
Favorite Charrie:
Kari

Quotes:
1. “My bra and jeans are compromised? So…what? They agreed to share and play nice?”
2. “Forget crime lords and corrupt politicians-telemarketers are the root of all evil.”
3. “I realized that I would rather die with you then live with someone else.”
4. “I’ll implode, like the fuckin’ Death Star.”

Rating:
5!

Bitter Frost Review

Bought it via kindle
Summary:
All her life, Breena had always dreamed about fairies as though she lived among them...beautiful fairies living among mortals and living in Feyland.

In her dreams, he was always there the breathtakingly handsome but dangerous Winter Prince, Kian, who is her intended. When Breena turns sixteen, she begins seeing fairies and other creatures mortals don't see. Her best friend Logan suddenly acts very protective.

Then she sees Kian, who seems intent on finding her and carrying her off to Feyland. That's fine and all, but for the fact that humans rarely survive a trip to Feyland, a kiss from a fairy generally means death to the human unless that human has fairy blood in them or is very strong, and although Kian seemed to be her intended, he seems to hate her and wants her dead.

Bitter Frost, was the Award-Winning Finalist in two categories - "Fiction: Chick-Lit/Women's Literature" and "Cross-Genre Fiction" of the 2011 International Book Awards, where Kailin Gow won first place overall in Fiction Horror, joining winners from St. Martin's Press, Simon & Shuster, Zondervan, and Random House. She joins other winners such as Bishop Desmond Tutu and Rick Warren in the 2011 International Book Awards.

Kailin Gow's books has been recommended by the Parents Teachers Association, PBS Kids, and a Sr. U.S. Senator and her daughter. President Obama's daughter Malia has stated she is reading the FROST Series
Review:
I have been waiting eagerly to get my hands on the series for quite a bit now the cover art is truly eye catching and I have always been a sucker for a good fairy story.
Bitter Frost was very well written and I quickly tore through it. My only problem was that it seemed like a watered down version of Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series.
Don’t get me wrong, the two are not exactly alike, there are several differences that make this tale unique and just as good, but as I was reading it I could not help but feel that sense of familiarity.
Favorite Quotes:
1. Dreams, my mother always told me, represent part of our unconsciousness- the place where we share the true part of our soul, away from the rest of the world.
2. “That’s disgusting! “ I said. “I’m…in fairy heat?”
Favorite Charrie:
Luke. Werewolf vs. Fairy boy? NO contest. Lol
Rating:
3.5

Sunday, October 30, 2011

The month of November.

I have been trying to stock pile reviews as the month of November is the national writers month and I am going to try and either work on my current book or start a new one just in hopes of finishing it for the month.

Either way, I won't be reading as much, which sucks but I really want to try and do it this time. I know that my reviews have piled up at the other website just because the boss lady plans better then I do, but this website at the moment is more for me then anything else.

 And as the Spooktacular book hop comes to a close we have 352 followers at the other website and 525 entries for our giveaway!
Exciting I know! I couldn't help but look for it every day.
But, that is what's happening and why my posting may be lax this month.
Depending on if I actually get followers I may do a give away towards Christmas but I am not sure yet how that is going to go.
Thanks.

Review for Seers by Heather Frost


Got it from Netgally
SUmmary:

For Kate Bennet, surviving the car wreck that killed her parents means big changes and even bigger problems. As she begins to see auras and invisible people, Kate must learn to trust Patrick O'Donnell, a handsome Guardian, or risk her life being overrun with Demons. She soon realizes that both she and her heart are in big-time trouble.

Review:

I decided to check this book out after fellow reviewer recommended it. She thought it had some similarities with another book, one I haven't read but fully intend to, so I figured, let's see how our reviews differ. If having not read Evermore would effect having read Seer's.

I liked the book. It was easy to get into and as soon as I turned the first page. I wanted to look more into Aura's just so I could get a better handle on the color's they described. I wanted to see if she kept with fact or not.
The characters were easy to connect with, because, lets face it, who hasn't had a dreamy romance fantasy with a guy who has an irish brogue. I know I have.
The emotion behind the main Character Kate was really well thought out and easily relatable.When you are in highschool with a secret, it is hard to juggle hiding it from your best friend while trying to balance a relationship you are not sure will work.
I really enjoyed it and I am ready for the next installment of what I hope to be a series.

I liked the twist that was put on Demon's. That you had to touch them first before they could touch you. The rule in place because they figure if you are going to touch a demon you are asking for it. It really was a unique take on things. Because in some ways I agree with it and others, brought up by the book, you can't help it because they stage it.

I also didn't see it coming that the grandfather was a Seer himself.I ended up grinning when he came in and asked why the gaurdians where in their house and threw them all for a loop.
That was pretty nifty that in the end as they have to save the twin girls, that it was a family affair so to speak.

I was also a sucker for the happy ending, that is really a disaster waiting to happen. I don't know how Patrick is going to be able to handle watching her age and die, going to a place he can never go. I am sure Toni, my favorite character, will help him out with it though. After all, what are mischievous thief friend's for.

Favorite Quote:

"It's probably the only table in the whole school where everything you are isn't judged. You wear anything, say anything and no ones trying to measure you. They're just glad to have you"

Rating:

4 stars!

Review for Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Got it with my own money.

Summary :

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime of shame. However, his human death unleashed an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, Acheron became the sole defender of mankind.
Only it was never that simple. For centuries, he has fought for our survival and hidden a past he’ll do anything to keep concealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by him threatens his very existence.
Now his survival, and ours, hinges on hers and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.
War has never been more deadly... or more fun.

Review:

I have had this book since it first came out. Back then I wasn't big on getting hardcover, mainly because of the price and I had a lack of funds, but for Ash's story, I was willing to spend the money.
I was not let down either.
At least three years later I am still re-reading it every year, more then once and enjoying every minute of it dispite knowing the outcomes.
It is just one of those reads you can't put down.
As it chornicles the horror's of Ash's life, I have found that it is starting to chronicle mine as well. There are photo's and notes stuck between the pages, flowers from my love presserved in time.

This is the book that makes you fall in love with the big bad cursed Atlantean god who is in charge of Artemis's Dark-Hunters. Earlier in the series it has hinted that his past wasn't a good one and with this book you are taken along his journey.

I don't want to say to much about his story, mainly because I am afraid of giving it away, and it truly is a great read. I will recommend it to anyone who needs a good book to read. Even if you haven't read the series it is still a good book to settle down with.

It was just amazing to see how much faith he has in humanity dispite all the wrong they did to him, And I was happy to have someone finally love him for him, past and all. It was the best ending.
For Fans of Ash, I will also recommend that you check out the bonus scene in Retribution book 20 of the series. You will love it.

Favorite Quotes:
1." But knowing something and experiencing it were two entirely different things. He'd been prepared for the emotions that threatened to overwhelm him not that he saw her again. The hatred. The betrayal. Worst of all the need. The Hunger. The desire. There was still a part of him that loved her, a part of him that was willing to forgive her anything. Even his death."

2." Oh please don't tell me I was talking out loud to myself. By the womans face she knew the answer and hated having been caught...again."

3." Urian grimaced in horror. 'I didn't even know he knew any mellow shit. Dear gods...is he ill?"

4." I am beginnin to get scared. This has to be a sign of the Apocalypse. If he breaks into Air Supply, I say we sneak up on him, drag him outside and beat the holy shit out of him."

5." You look a little tense and I don't want to make any sudden moves in case you've had alot of caffeine or something."

6." Remember no matter what they are or where they all come from all women have one simple birth deffect.BPD.
BPD?
Bitch Personality Disorder"


Rating:5 stars!!

Review for Dearly Departed by Lia Habel

Got it from Netgalley
Summary:
Love conquers all, so they say. But can Cupid’s arrow pierce the hearts of the living and the dead—or rather, the undead? Can a proper young Victorian lady find true love in the arms of a dashing zombie?

The year is 2195. The place is New Victoria—a high-tech nation modeled on the manners, mores, and fashions of an antique era. A teenager in high society, Nora Dearly is far more interested in military history and her country’s political unrest than in tea parties and debutante balls. But after her beloved parents die, Nora is left at the mercy of her domineering aunt, a social-climbing spendthrift who has squandered the family fortune and now plans to marry her niece off for money. For Nora, no fate could be more horrible—until she’s nearly kidnapped by an army of walking corpses.

But fate is just getting started with Nora. Catapulted from her world of drawing-room civility, she’s suddenly gunning down ravenous zombies alongside mysterious black-clad commandos and confronting “The Laz,” a fatal virus that raises the dead—and hell along with them. Hardly ideal circumstances. Then Nora meets Bram Griswold, a young soldier who is brave, handsome, noble . . . and dead. But as is the case with the rest of his special undead unit, luck and modern science have enabled Bram to hold on to his mind, his manners, and his body parts. And when his bond of trust with Nora turns to tenderness, there’s no turning back. Eventually, they know, the disease will win, separating the star-crossed lovers forever. But until then, beating or not, their hearts will have what they desire.

In Dearly, Departed, romance meets walking-dead thriller, spawning a madly imaginative novel of rip-roaring adventure, spine-tingling suspense, and macabre comedy that forever redefines the concept of undying love.

Review:I won't lie, on finishing the first chapter I was a little worried about what I had gotten myself into, especially on the mixed reviews I noticed the book was getting. Luckily those worries prove to be for nothing as the story quickly changed pace and swept me up in the current that is Dearly Departed.

I enjoyed the refreshing change of pace, while the world seems to be stuck on the latest love trends such as vampires, werewolves and the up and coming angels, a new love story was brought forth into the paranormal scene.
A zombie love story.

I liked the way that not all of the zombies turned into the mindless brain eating monsters they are often displayed as. Yes the urge was there, but it could be controlled as they kept some if not most of their humanity.

I also appreciated the fact that the author chose to explain the workings of the zombies and why they craved the flesh.

This witty zombie romance was a hard to put down, awesome read that at some points had me wanting to hurl the Kindle away from me in frustration at the turn of some events.

Favorite Quotes:1." The Cute is strong with this one"
2."I will shoot you in the face if you say one more word to me," I fumed. ' So noted' ' I am so glad that I am an only child"
Rating :
 4.5 stars!!

Friday, October 28, 2011

Review for Tears of Elios by Crista McHugh

Borrowed from a friend
Summary:
Shape-shifters’ Rule #1: Don’t let the humans know you still exist.

Rule #2: If a human finds out about you, silence them.

Some rules were meant to be broken…

Ranealya ruthlessly plays by the rules and has outlived most of her race because of it. If she wants to survive, she’ll have to stick to them, especially with a genocidal tyrant hell-bent on destroying all the non-humans in the realm. But everything falls apart when a human saves her life.

Gregor knows he’s inviting trouble when he helps a wounded shape-shifter, but he can’t pass up the opportunity to study one before they become extinct. She disturbs the quiet order of his scholarly existence, vexes him in more ways than he can count, and encourages him to break enough of the kingdom’s laws so that not even being the king’s cousin will save his head. The problem is, he’s already lost his heart


Review:The first thing that came to mind upon finishing this book is " Holy Crap! Is that it?!" I did not want this book to end.
It was such a riveting read that I read it in a day, not to say the book is short, simply put it grabs you by the boot straps so to speak and hauls you into the story until you are helpless but to keep turning the page until you find out what happens.

It was the ending that completely threw me, while I applaud it, I still want to know what happened to a certain group. I am hoping that it will be explained in the next book.

I intend to buy the book and add it to my library so when I get the urge to read it again, as I know I will, it will readily be at my fingertips.
Each character has so much emotion and depth to it that you cannot help but sympathize with their problems.

Rating:5 stars!

Review for The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa

Got it from Netgalley

Summary:
My name—my True Name—is Ashallayn'darkmyr Tallyn.
I am the last remaining son of Mab, Queen of the Unseelie Court. And I am dead to her.
My fall began, as many stories do, with a girl…


Review: I have been anxiously awaiting the release date for this book since I bought and read the third book in under two days. Time seemed to drag slowly on ward as the date crept forward. So, when I learned that I had been approved to read it before it was released, I just about squealed with delight. Girly moment of mine yes I know, but I luckily didn't. I know I did however clap my hands and do a victory dance, which I had to then explain to my irritated fiance when it woke him up. I was so excited to actually get to read this book finally that I had it up in my facebook status I was talking about it to anyone who would listen.

The problem with getting so hyped up for a book however, can be that you make it out to be something other then it would be and are seriously let down.

That was not the case. From the first page I was hooked, By the third chapter I knew that this book was only going to get better as the story was unfolded.
I was always a team Puck person, just something about him made me sway more to his side, maybe it was because of how serious Ash always seemed. This book was from Ash's point of view as he went on one of those epic quests to find a way to be with his love the Iron Queen.

Anyone who knows fairy lore knows that fairy kryptonite is Iron, werewolves have silver, vampires have wooden stakes, fearie has iron. So you can imagine the dilema that arises when Meghan is crowned Iron Queen in the third book and using Ash's real name, forbids him from hurting himself and banishing him from the Iron Realm because he would have followed her to the point of death.

As twist and turn unfolded, I was glued to the pages, giving up sleep because I was always muttering about just the next chapter. I had been pretty sick the day before, not even wanting to read hence worrying my love but once I started giving up sleep his worries abated.

As of now, this year the Iron Knight takes the best book read of my year. It is a book I intend to buy once it comes out and I will recommend the entire series to anyone who is looking for a good book. I am more then ready for a Puck book however!

Favorite Quotes:

"That you, a soulless and immortal being, wish to become human for the mortal you love."

"Be careful, boy. In some tales, the hero gets eaten by the monster after all."

" I think you offended him, Goodfellow. '
He snorted. ' If I ever worried about that, I'd never open my mouth."

" No! Bad wraith! No touchie!"

Rating:
5 stars!

Disclaimer


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of numerous Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by the Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*