Current Giveaways!

Check Back Later Please.

Monday, December 31, 2012

Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett

Confessions of an Angry Girl (Confessions, #1)
 Synopsis:
Rose Zarelli, self-proclaimed word geek and angry girl, has some confessions to make…

1. I'm livid all the time. Why? My dad died. My mom barely talks. My brother abandoned us. I think I'm allowed to be irate, don't you?

2. I make people furious regularly. Want an example? I kissed Jamie Forta, a badass guy who might be dating a cheerleader. She is now enraged and out for blood. Mine.

3. High school might as well be Mars. My best friend has been replaced by an alien, and I see red all the time. (Mars is red and "seeing red" means being angry—get it?)

Here are some other vocab words that describe my life: Inadequate. Insufferable. Intolerable.

(Don't know what they mean? Look them up yourself.)

(Sorry. That was rude.)

Review:
This book was written amazingly. It was as if I had been forced to relive my high school days. I both shudder at the memories and thoroughly enjoyed the book because of everything that happened in it.

Rose is dealing with the unexpected and recent death of her father, and it seems that with his death her family is falling a part in their grief.

So like any teenager does she lashes out, both inward and outward.

Rose is so quiet and with drawn it is only when she becomes odd friends with Angelo and Jamie, both of which are not high on the totem pole of popularity, that her life seems to resume pace. Even with the fights with her best friend and one situation after another.

Rose learns how to deal with everything and everyone on her own and grows right before our eyes.

This is a book I would recommend to anyone that has a teenager in their lives because of how vivid it is and how real the author made the events and  situations.

Rating:
5 out of 5 Raven's!

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder. ARC Review

Synopsis: 
 
Hunted, Killed—Survived?

As the last Healer in the Fifteen Realms, Avry of Kazan is in a unique position: in the minds of her friends and foes alike, she no longer exists. Despite her need to prevent the megalomanical King Tohon from winning control of the Realms, Avry is also determined to find her sister and repair their estrangement. And she must do it alone, as Kerrick, her partner and sole confident, returns to Alga to summon his country into battle.

Though she should be in hiding, Avry will do whatever she can to support Tohon’s opponents. Including infiltrating a holy army, evading magic sniffers, teaching forest skills to soldiers and figuring out how to stop Tohon’s most horrible creations yet; an army of the walking dead—human and animal alike and nearly impossible to defeat.

War is coming and Avry is alone. Unless she figures out how to do the impossible ... again


Review:
 I think one of the best thing about this book was the action that always seemed right around the corner. 

As Avry and Kerrick part ways on separate missions, despite finding out about their new love, it was one thing after another for these two. Avry always seemed to be getting in trouble and it seemed like she remained the single most obsession of Tohon, our main villain of the story.


In this book there is surprise after surprise that if you are not paying attention will completely throw you, it made the book interesting.

It was nice watching Avry grow and mature into a woman through the book, not many author's can do that with their character's , so it was a refreshing change to watch the metamorphosis.

I loved the twist towards the last fourth of the book. I definitely did not see it coming and I was cheering and chanting inside of my head as I devoured that last part.

I hated the ending, it was such a cliffhanger that I wanted to pull my hair out, especially with having to wait for the next installment to the series being so far away.

It is definitely one I will buy just to see how everything turns out.


The only problem I had with this ARC Was the formatting for the Kindle Fire, perhaps it was just mine, but it was hard to tell when the point of views where changing. Between Kerrick and Avry I had to pull myself back from the story to discern whose story I was stepping into.

It definitely took away from it.



Rating:
4 Raven's out of 5.

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Teaser Tuesday!! 12.25.2012


 Merry Christmas Everyone! As most of you will have noticed, the blog has been home for the tumbleweeds and crickets, and for that I do sincerely apologize. The computer's crashed after a power surge and we only had the money to fix one. Anyone dating a gamer knows getting said gamer off of a computer and balancing jobs at hte same time is not an easy thing. Luckily for me I was good this year and Santa brought me a brand new labtop. 

I hope everyone had a great holiday, whatever you celebrate, and I hope you were able to feel the love that I expect to come around this time of year. 



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


I am currently in between books so I chose to pick a teaser from the book I just finished reading: 
 
  •   "Tarot: n. a specialized deck of illustrated cards, now used mainly for fortune-telling, often associated with the occult. The Twenty-two trump cards of the deck, the Major Arcana, are distinctly symbolic, depicting scenes and characters from ancient times."

Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

Synopsis:
 Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life..


Review:
This book crossed my radar after I accidentally came across it's sequel on netgalley. And while Scent of Magic is fine as a stand alone book I found myself wondering how it all began and how the friendships and relationships started.

So I made my way over to Amazon and purchased the book so I can start from the beginning without trying to piece together the holes on my own.

I was transported into a world full of magic and intrigue and the aftermath of a plague that wiped out many of their worlds population. With a war brewing and two sides fighting for the control of the population, with Healer's considered the founders of the plague, I was immediately hooked as a hidden healer decided to help a child on the brink of death.

The twist on healer's powers was that they took the sickness or injury into themselves and with their rapid healing they were able to either survive or perish to the disease if they could not heal it in time. 

So as Avry is waiting in prison for her execution she is taken by a group of men on their own journey to save a prince thought to be dead, having perished along with countless others to the plague.

I loved the twist and the friendships that were created in the book, it was fun getting to be there for the inside jokes and moments that will transcend into the second book.

 There is a certain standard that I expect when I start reading a Maria V. Snyder book, and I was not disappointed with the magical creation she shared with all of us.

Rating:
4 Raven's out of 5.

Monday, December 24, 2012

Snow Whyte and the Queen of Mayhem by Melissa Lemon

Synopsis:
 Stuck in her family's apple orchards, Kat's got plenty of work to do and only pesky Jeremy to help. But when Jeremy convinces her to run away, Kat will discover that nothing---and no one---in her life is quite what it seems. Wonderfully reimagined, this is the magical tale of Snow White as you've never read it before!
Review:
It seems this is the year to do remakes on the classic tales we all grew up on, especially Snow White. There have been two movies both of which I own, being the fairy tale fanatic that I am and who knows how many other books and shows I have read or watched.

In this tale, the Queen is not the wicked step mother but instead Snow Whites real mother whose real name is the meaning of Evil.

This story is narrated by the magic mirror with a twist just waiting around the corner at the end. 

Snow's name comes from a protection spell cast on the girl as a babe by the mirror when trying to aid in her escape. A spell is cast that offers the snow as a warning/protection against those that would do her harm.  A spell that acts up in one man in particular when he comes around.

I liked that so many aspects of this story where the same but there were also so many different twists and details that kept the story close to home but gave it an all new life of it's own.

It seemed like I had finished this tale in no time, becoming so immersed in the tale and invested that it took me barely a day to finish the book.

Rating:
4 Ravens' out of 5

Saturday, December 1, 2012

Volcanoes by Nicole Hamlett Tour Stop

Synopsis:
Be careful what you ask of Fate - sometimes she gives it to you.

When we last saw our heroine, she'd watched her faithful pet rip off her new best friend's head to save her son's life and Atlantis was rising from the depths. Now, Grace Murphy is back in the third installment of the Huntress series, but this time she's facing an all-out war. It's critical that Nyx (and Atlantis) stay buried, but her psychotic brats will do most anything to get her back.

With Hypnos invading her dreams, Dylan caught up in the throes of his "change" and juggling her relationships with Drew and Heph, to say Grace's hands are full would be an understatement.

You didn't think that was all, did you? Of course there's more!

Grace wished her life would just go back to the way it was before, and that she wouldn't have her powers or responsibilities anymore. Unfortunately, it looks like Fate answered this time. The results aren't pretty.

Review:
I chose to read this book without reading the other two due to a busy schedule, and since I was assured it was a stand alone book I didn't worry about trying to fit the first two of the series in.

It was, I admit, a slow starter for me. It didn't really pick up to the point that I found myself gripping the kindle as I devoured the pages, until the last probably half of the book, and by that time I found myself hooked.

I loved the way it was written, the description fit beautifully with each setting. I also enjoyed that being a part of the Sci Fi/ Fantasy setting's there can be major hit or misses and N.H. nailed it all within this book.

The only down side of the book was how much seemed packed into the story, I found myself having to re-read sections to make sure I got everything and I still felt like I had missed parts. It is definitely going to be a re-read once I have time to get the other two read so I am more invested in the series.

I love how down to earth Grace was however, you really fall in love with the characters N.H. invests so much time in.

Rating:
4 out of 5 Raven's.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

The Duchess of the Shallows by Neil McGarry and Daniel Ravipinto Interview and Review

(( I would like to apologize for the lack of pictures. My internet was not being friendly and refused uploading/saving of any picture. When the problem is solved I will return and update this post. Thank you.))

Synopsis:
A game is played in the fog-shrouded city of Rodaas, and every citizen, from the nameless of the Shallows to the noblest of the Garden, is a player or a pawn. And no one is as he appears.

Not Minette, brothel-keeper and obsessive collector of secrets. Not Uncle Cornelius, fearsome chief of the gang of brutes and murderers known as the Red. Not the cults of Death, Wisdom, and Illumination, eternally scheming and plotting along the Godswalk.

And certainly not the orphaned bread girl known as Duchess.

Yet armed with nothing more than her wits, her good friend Lysander and a brass mark of dubious origin Duchess will dare to play that game for the most coveted of prizes: initiation into a secret society of
thieves, spies and rumormongers who stand supreme in a city where corruption and lies are common coin.

The Grey.


Review:
What I liked about this book was that it is like a how to guide in manipulation. So many people played one another that I often found myself wondering how long they would be able to keep that little game up. But then again when you are a thief that is what happens.

I loved the kick butt action that kept me glued to the story as I became so involved in the story it was hard to put down. I was actually a day late getting this book read due to NaNoWriMo and other sorts of things that are going on in my life, so to become so involved and to loose my self in this great story, well it was a relief.

I liked the history behind the character's that made them seem life like. They had a background and could have been people you passed along the street in your day to day life none the wiser.
 The plot seemed very well thought out and dimensional, even the setting's were very descriptive. I expected to open my eyes, look out my window and find myself transported into the world the author's created.


The only problem I had with the book was the ending, always a sucker for cliff hanger's I love and hate them alike.

Rating:
4.5 out of 5 Raven's.


About the Authors:
  • Neil McGarry
Neil is a former technical writer, former stand-up comedian and current indie author living in Philadelphia. While not working with Daniel Ravipinto on the sequel to THE DUCHESS OF THE SHALLOWS, Neil reads about World War II, plays both Ultimate Frisbee and volleyball, follows politics and tries to perfect the peanut butter cookie.


  • Daniel Ravipinto
  • (No information Found)

Interview with the Author:
 1. What got you started writing?

Neil: I was always writing as a kid, usually stories in which unlikely people became heroes, which is in some ways the story of The Duchess of the Shallows. Then I'd "self-publish", usually by stapling the mass of paper together in an unholy mockery of a book. We've done a better job with Duchess, I promise!

Dan: I've always been connected with stories as well, though I approached them from a different angle. From a very young age I was playing text-adventure and role-playing games – games that told stories. I did some atrocious fan-writing as well, and ended up writing a few games of my own.

2. If you could no longer write, what would your next dream be?

Neil: Well, I've already tried stand-up comedy, so I guess my next unlikely endeavor would be rodeo clown. Either that or singing in a rock band, which puts me just one convertible away from a mid-life crisis.

Dan: Gosh, the idea of not being able to write any longer is… a little paralyzing. I can't imagine storytelling not being part of my life in some way. I guess I'd probably end up still working on creative projects – composing music or creating games – but I can't imagine a life completely devoid of artistic endeavors.

3. How do you find time to balance writing and living life?

Neil: Not very easily! I play Ultimate Frisbee and volleyball, and there's always a book I want to read or friends I want to catch up with, so it can be challenging to balance it all.

Dan: Neil and I can't remember what we talked to each other about before we had these books! Right now we're devoting more time to writing than other things, but after the next book is published (mid-2013) we'll probably break for a while and try other things.

4. Which of your characters do you relate to the most and why?

Neil: For me, Duchess. She is crazy motivated but also somewhat ambivalent about the tough choices she has to make to achieve her ambitions. I'm about half as motivated but twice as ambivalent, always questioning the value of my decisions and goals. I think it's healthy to question yourself, but there's a point at which you're just mentally running in circles. I try to stay on the right side of that line.

Dan: Lysander. He wears his heart on his sleeve very much as I do. Though I think he's probably emotionally and physically tougher than I am, his toughness hasn't cost him his empathy. Like Neil with Duchess, I also admire his grit. Lysander knows where he is in life and knows precisely how he got there and I don't think I can ever really say the same for myself.

5. Which of your characters were the easiest to write for and who was the hardest? Why?

Neil: Minette's the easiest, hands down. She's so clever and cagey that when I sit down to work on a chapter that features her I have a smile on my face. Brenn was the most difficult, because he's much like Lysander but, obviously, his own person, and he doesn't get a great deal of page time to show it.

Dan: I often find Duchess and Lysander's dialogue together to come very easily. I can hear their voices in my head – the banter and ease they have with each other. I had some trouble with the Lady Anassa simply because of the word games she's constantly playing. Every word has at least two meanings.

6. What was your biggest fear about being a writer?

Neil: That we're pretenders, hacks who couldn't get a book deal from a traditional publisher so now we're going the indie route to cover up our inadequacy. When we submitted The Duchess of the Shallows to Kirkus for review, we were petrified that they'd call us out for the charlatans we feared we were. The day the review was due I was a nervous wreck, and Dan finally had to ban me from the computer where I was logged in to email, clicking "refresh" every two minutes. When the review turned out to be not only positive but glowing…well, it was the first outward sign that we were for real, and that as authors we could play with the big boys (and girls).

Dan: Much the same for me, though it often takes the form of delusion rather than deceit. I always have a little voice in the back of my mind that calls into question my own taste whenever I finish something and particularly like it. What if I'm fooling myself? What if I'm wrong?

Of course, the answer is that you just make sure you don't write in a vacuum. You get your writing out in front of other eyes (which makes having a writing partner particularly great) and see what they say. Everybody makes mistakes or overlooks things, but having readers who can give you real, critical feedback is invaluable.

7. How do you deal with negative feedback or reviews?

Dan: Indie authors often don't have an editor, so we have to be twice as attentive to criticism to ensure we're not sealing ourselves off in a little bubble in which we can do nothing wrong.

For us, every piece of feedback is taken seriously. We never dismiss anything out of hand. But some feedback is more germane than others, and if it feels like the advice or critique we're being given doesn't really fit the direction we were going then we feel comfortable disagreeing.

Neil: And of course our book's not for everyone. No book is. It's kind of like food; if you don't like fish, you won't want to eat it no matter how well it's been well prepared. So if we get a bad review we try to separate the objective criticism that deserves evaluation from the subjective this just isn't for me response we can't do anything about. So far we've had very little negative feedback, I'm pleased to say.

8. What do you do when you find yourself struggling with writer's block?
Neil: One of the nice things about having a co-author is that two people rarely have writer's block at the same time! So when I get stuck I hand off the manuscript to Dan, and he does the same. So far it has worked.

Dan: Also, sometimes you have to just force yourself past that kind of thing, and grind out a few pages until you get back to your creative spot. Writing, like any other craft, isn't always easy and isn't always fun.

9. What advice would you give your 10-20 years in the past self?
Neil: Take risks! Failure won't destroy you, and a little embarrassment is good for the soul.

Dan: Honestly, I have the same answer. Looking back, there's almost nothing I've done that I regret, but I definitely regret some chances I didn't take.

10. Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to sit down and talk with us here at Wonderland Reviews. I really appreciate the time and effort. Before you leave, are there any last words that you would like to leave with the reader's/followers

We'd like to thank everyone who spent their money and time taking a chance on a couple of indie authors. Indie publishing is hard – don't ever let anyone tell you otherwise – but when we get a message of praise from someone who's enjoyed the work it all seems worth it.

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Loving Summer by Kailin Gow Review Tour Stop

Synopsis:
Summer has always looked forward to spending her summers at her Aunt's beach house with the Donovans. To her, summers at Aunt Sookie's beach house was magical, especially getting to spend time with the Donovans - her best friend Rachel and Rachel's brothers Nathaniel, and Drew. Here at Aunt Sookie's beach house, they can be anyone and anything they dreamed. For Summer, she had always wished to become as pretty as Rachel and for her brothers to think of her as more than Rachel's friend. For Nat and Drew, summers at Aunt Sookie's beach house meant fun and escape, a place where they go to with their mom and sister for the summer, away from city life. They never thought this summer would be different. They never thought things would change as much as they did...and it all began with them falling for and loving Summer

Review:
I am not sure what to say about this book. It was not a book I intend to re-read, nor is it a book I absolutely hated. It is just a book that was a simple easy read for me.

One thing I liked about the book was that it was a quick read, I am a sucker for romance and though some of the scenarios were dramatic and cheesy, I still thought they were cute if unrealistic.

I didn't like that it was three "gorgeous" guys after one girl. And it seemed like their declarations of love came out of nowhere, as if they just suddenly found out what they liked. They couldn't even seem to lay it down straight what they liked about the girl.

I did like Rachel and although termed a 'Goth' a stereotype  I absolutely abhor when reading, she was still a sweet girl and my favorite of the quad

I didn't like Summer at all, she was actually that girl that I could see myself getting annoyed with really quickly. If she had been a real person she wouldn't be the type of person I hung out with or even associated with.

The ending also just happened, and while I enjoy a good cliff hanger because it pushes me to complete a series, I hated how this one just stopped as if pages had been ripped from the book. Nothing was resolved and nothing left me wanting more.

This would be the perfect summer read when just lazing about for the day and wanting something quick to take your mind off of things, the story was very sweet just not executed to my expectations.

Rating:
3 Out of 5 Rating's.
 

Spotlight post! Tour- Infinity Children by Trevor E. Donaldson




Synopsis:
A small clan of dying aliens struggles to create the perfect symbiotic host body, but when their primary candidate escapes, a battle ensues between Heaven and Earth

About the Author:
Trevor E. Donaldson lives in Wisconsin surrounded by his lovingly tended library of vintage literary fiction.
When his head isn't buried in his books, he journeys the halls of unhallowed ages to imbue his writing with primal terrors.
His influences include: Emile Zola, HP Lovecraft, Andre Gide, Guy de Maupassant, and James Tiptree Jr.
Trevor’s work has been featured in several publications including: SNM Horror Magazine, Necrotic Shorts, Cover of Darkness Magazine, The Aviator E-zine, and Dark Gothic Resurrected Magazine.

Eternal Press/Damnation Books published his novel Infinity Children in August 2012.

Current projects include:

A screenplay of mystery and horror entitled Iron Soul.
A novel of sword and sorcery with a working title of Never Trust a Goblin.
A game concept of horror and adventure entitled The Nameless.

Author's Website:
 

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

When we Collide by A.L. Jackson Review Tour Stop

Synopsis:
From the bestselling author of Pulled and Take This Regret comes a gripping new tale of loss and love.

William has spent six years running from his past and the last eight months trying to rid his mind of the dreams that increasingly haunt his nights. Trapped in a world of false ambitions and feigned affections, William knows he’s reached a breaking point and something’s going to give.

Maggie had lived her entire life without hope until one man showed her what it meant to be loved. He’d been her light in a lifetime of darkness. Six years ago, that darkness stole him away. Without him, she’s surrendered herself to an existence she doesn’t know how to escape.

When the family William left behind is struck by tragedy, he is called back to the one place he’s sworn to never return to again.

In a moment that will change his life forever, William comes face to face with the girl who, with one look, captured his heart. He is unable to ignore the buried desires and the hope for the future they’d once believed they’d have.

Now William is ready to fight to take back what had been stolen from him six years before.
But he never imagined what that fight might cost him.

A.L. Jackson gives you an intimate look into the lives of a family bound by an unseen connection in this new contemporary romance


Review:
I knew from the beginning that this book was going to be an emotionally charged read and so I found myself preparing for it. The opening dedication says it all. "Because it shouldn't hurt to be touched."

This book talks about a sensitive topic with me, having suffered from abuse myself, so I always find it harder to enjoy these books because the author can get it wrong on so many levels.

A.L. Jackson is not such an author, with the skill to write so beautifully and drag such emotion out of the depths of your soul, you can't help but fall in love with the character's she creates.

It definitely is not the sweet rose colored glass romance that most think of when it comes to a love story, instead it is intense, dark and real. Maggie's struggles with abuse through her entire life leaves her damage and it is amazing to think about the guys that are willing to fight past all that baggage to save the girl they find themselves loosing their heart to.

I love the villain of the this book. His background and character was so developed that it had me tip toeing around my house for fear of finding him in my living room and invoking his wrath.

This tear jerking novel will quickly become a re-read that you pass along from generation to generation in hopes of preparing women to be strong and avoid such a cycle of abuse.

If you are not already a fan of this author, then this book will make you one.

I love the cover art, it is gorgeous and it gives nothing about the book away.

Rating:
5 out of 5 Raven's!

Friday, November 2, 2012

Salamander Stone Interview + Review by C.J. Fenge (Tour Stop)

Synopsis:
Amber discovers a conspiracy so earth-shattering it threatens the whole of the human race. Forced to go on the run, it seems that she has enemies in every corner - some for her power, others see her as their savior - others still Seek her out of twisted love or simple lust. At the center of everything, the Salamander Stone Attracts more than earthly evil. A demon is after Amber as well, and his desires are unthinkable
Review:
This book was not my favorite. The basis of the story was an interesting thing to think about, but the over all way it was developed I was not a fan.

As I first started out I found myself lost, it almost felt as if this was a sequel to the book and it kept me in a constant state of worry that I was missing something. It really took away from the book.

I was also not a fan of the protagonist always being in danger... that is a huge pet peeve of mine in actuality, if someone is always falling for the same thing, always needing rescued, I really just start to wish that they would do the world a favor and just end it all since they can't seem to learn from their mistakes.

I did like the romance-ish aspect, so many books are focusing so heavily on that love angle, it was refreshing to see an emotional level that wasn't so heavy, so intense as everyone Else's.

I did enjoy the mystery that seemed to lurk within the book and despite it starting out slow it actually got better the more into the book I got. I also loved the cover, it is truly beautiful.

Rating:
3 out of 5 Raven's.
(Kinda Eh about it.)

Interview with The Author:
. How did you come up with the title for your book?
This title wasn’t my first choice; I went through quite a few before I realised The Salamander
Stone sounded exactly right, though at home the book is still referred to as ‘The Amber
Book’ – not very thrilling! There are no actual salamanders in the story, but the Salamander
Stone itself is a beautiful crystal which plays a vital part in the action.

2. What would you do in the place of Amber in a world you created?
In the world I created for Amber? I’d probably act pretty much as she does, as she’s really
just an ordinary girl trying to survive an extraordinary situation. But maybe I wouldn’t be as
brave, or sensible, as she turns out to be!

3. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?
As well as the usual advice: ‘read around your genre... write what you know... edit
ruthlessly... join a creative writing class’ etc etc, what an aspiring author really needs is self-
belief, as it can be a long, disheartening process to get work out in the world. If you don’t
have sufficient self-belief, you need someone close to you who keeps your spirits up when
you get the inevitable knocks, and, more importantly, who keeps you writing.

4. Who are your favorite authors?
They change with time and mood. I’ve always had a fondness for classic authors such as
Dickens, George Eliot, Conan Doyle, Tolkien etc. But more recent favourites are Yann
Martel, Margaret Attwood, Philip Pullman, Michael Morpurgo and, of course, J.K. Rowling.

5. If your book was made into a movie who would you want to be cast for your characters.
Amber would have to be someone slim, tall, charismatic. There are plenty of actresses around
who fit that description but sometimes you see the ideal person just walking along the street.
Meshak I envisaged as a very young Arnold Schwarzenegger, or a young Meatloaf. And
Khiza is a beautiful African boy, a younger version of Denzel Washington.

6. What do you do for writers block?
I drink lots of coffee, play a few rounds of spider solitaire, go for a walk/bike ride and eat
far too much chocolate. Then I outline my problems to my husband and we have a good row
about it – which usually clears the mind.

7. What is the hardest part of being a writer for you?
The non-writing part, especially the self-promotion. It doesn’t come easily or naturally to me,
but I’m learning.

8. What do you do in your free time not including writing?
I read. I ride bikes/horses. I avoid doing housework (I’m very good at this). I spend a lot of
time just ‘footling’.

9. What is your biggest fear and why?
To do with writing? My biggest fear is I’ll sit in front of a blank page with an equally blank
mind – and nothing I say or do will fill that page. But if you’re talking about real, terrible,
ultimate fears then they are: spiders, death, spiders, annihilation, spiders, catastrophes and

spiders – in that order.

10. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to sit down and talk to us today at
Wonderland Reviews, are there any last words you would like to leave with our readers?
If you’re a reader, you can be a writer. I spent most of my life not believing I could write –
until I was forced into it and the words just came. If I can do it, anyone can. Go on, have a go.
What have you got to lose?

Grimoire Books 1+2 Reviews by S.M. Boyce Tour Stop!

Synopsis:
The Grimoire turns its own pages and can answer any question asked of it...and Kara Magari is its next target.

Kara has no idea what she's getting herself into when she stumbles across the old book while hiking along a hidden trail. Once she opens it, she's thrown into Ourea: a beautiful world full of terrifying beings that all want the Grimoire's secrets. Everyone in this new world is trying to find her, and most of them want to control the new-found power the Grimoire bestows upon her.

Braeden Drakonin grew up in Ourea, and all he’s ever known in life is lying. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. He has one question to ask the book—-one question that can fix everything in his broken life—-and he’s not letting Kara out of his sight until he gets an answer.

There's no escaping Ourea

Review: 
There was so much that I absolutely adored about this book, I was a little iffy when I read the synopsis of it, figuring I could help out with the tour I decided to give it a shot and boy am I ever glad that I did.

This book had allot of trace elements from other fantasy hits, from Narnia to Lord of the Ring's I could definitely see the influence and inspiration that came with it, but more then that I saw how the author created their own diverse world that was beautiful and creative.

I love the well rounded character's, nothing is worse then finding a character and not being able to connect with them, or growling in frustration because you can't understand them. This author made the character's so realistic that It was as if they were friends in real life and I was reading a documentary on their life.

It truly is amazing the creativity that comes with Fantasy and the ability to create a realistic world hidden within our own but this author did it and then some.

Rating:
5 out of 5!

Synopsis:
Ourea has always been a deadly place. The lichgates tying the hidden world to Earth keep its creatures at bay—for now.

Kara Magari ignited a war when she stumbled into Ourea and found the Grimoire: a powerful artifact filled with secrets. To protect the one person she has left, she strikes a deal that goes against everything she believes in. But things don’t go as planned.

Braeden Drakonin can no longer run from who—and what—he is. He has to face the facts. He’s a prince. He’s a murderer. He’s a wanted man. And after a betrayal that leaves him heartbroken, he’s out for blood.

To survive, both Kara and Braeden must become the evil each has grown to hate.


Review:

I had high hopes for this book when it came to the series, I was so in love with the first book I didn't think that it could get any better, boy was I wrong.

Treason went far beyond my expectations. It was vivid and full of action, with suspense around every corner that kept my eyes glued to the pages as I tried to figure out what was going to happen next.
This roller coaster ride constantly had me sitting back with a stunned look on my face as I tried to figure out the way my mind had been played.

I loved the darker feel of the book, you really get into the mechanisms of the world that S.M. Boyce has created.

In this book we get to witness the way Kara and Braedon's relationship is developing.

I think my favorite aspect of this book was that one major twist that is so sneaky in development that it is like a soccer punch to the face, you find yourself breathless and stunned as it reveals it's true self.

I am so excited for the next installment of the series that it is the worst kind of torture! >.<

Rating:
5 out of 5 Raven's!

Matt ARcher Monster Hunter by KEndra C. Highley Interview +Review Tour Stop

Synopsis:
Fourteen-year-old Matt Archer spends his days studying Algebra, hanging out with his best friend and crushing on the Goddess of Greenhill High, Ella Mitchell. To be honest, he thinks his life is pretty lame until he discovers something terrifying on a weekend camping trip at the local state park.

Monsters are real. And living in his backyard.

But that's not the half of it. After Matt is forced to kill a strange creature to save his uncle, he finds out that the weird knife he took from his uncle's bag has a secret, one that will change Matt's life. The knife was designed with one purpose: to hunt monsters. And it's chosen Matt as its wielder.

Now Matt's part of a world he didn't know existed, working with a covert military unit dedicated to eliminating walking nightmares. Faced with a prophecy about a looming dark war, Matt soon realizes his upcoming Algebra test is the least of his worries.

His new double life leaves Matt wondering which is tougher: hunting monsters or asking Ella Mitchell for a date?

Review:
From the get go I was hooked on this book. You are immediately drawn into the story as Matt's life is easily understandable.

I know I found myself waiting with bated breath to see   what new troubles would find our main character and what he would do about it.

I loved the language used in the book, it was the perfect amount of slang that lead you to believe that it was written by an actual teen age boy, the only problem I could see with it would be some of the older generation not being able to understand what they meant. Taking a step back however I learned that you could piece it together and understand.

One of my only problems about the book was the religious aspect the monster's origin's seemed to take. Religion is such a tricky thing these days that it can be either a hit or miss with the audience and I have read more then one book where it was pushed to much and ended up ruining the story for me.

Otherwise this was a great story idea that I loved completely and found myself finishing in one sitting.

Rating:
4.5 out of 5 Raven's


Author Interview:
What monster scares you the most and why
Oh, wow. I think I write monster hunter books because a lot of monsters scare me. It’s a morbid fascination, really. But, probably evil, very intelligent aliens. Oh, my gosh—that scares me more than anything J Anything that concerns Stephen Hawking seems worthy of my own distress.

what had been your favorite Halloween memory
I remember trick-or-treating on my street by myself. I was probably about ten, so my parents let me go on my own that year. My neighbors had a son who was in high-school at the time. He was a pretty big guy, who went on to play football at Tennessee. So, every year they set up a little scare for everyone. I knew it, but even seeing the cut-up trash bags creating a curtain around the porch, I approached the house anyway. When I stepped inside the “cave,” there was a figure sitting in a chair at the back, dressed in overalls and a hockey mask. I tremulously approached the door, keeping the hockey-masked dude in my peripheral vision, telling myself over and over, “that’s just Eric. Just Eric.” Just before I rang the doorbell, the figure leapt to his feet and roared. Needless to say, I ran screaming down the driveway and headed across the lawns toward home. A moment later, I heard someone laughing and calling my name. Eric had taken off his mask, and was following me with a fistful of candy.
what would you do if the real world turned into a world you created
Seriously hope someone like Matt and the rest of the knife wielders existed. Honestly, if monsters started running amok in Texas, I think I’d find a bunker. Not the most noble path, but I have a huge admiration for military units and all they do to keep us safe. I’d hope they could find a way to rid us of the threat.

What's the harder part of writing.
For me it’s the rough draft phase. I love that phase, when everything is new and exciting and shiny. But I’m also a pantser, so I don’t work from more than a very basic outline. Rather, I write organically, letting the story find itself. On the days my characters aren’t in the mood to chat with me, it’s hard to get words onto the page. I keep telling myself I should outline more, but when I do, I find the prose isn’t as natural. So it can be a struggle.

If you could be a monster what would you be and why.
I’d like to be one with glorious fur! Like Sully from Monsters, Inc, or Gossamer from Warner Bros. A monster who’s loveable, even if a bit scary.

Thanks for taking time out of your schedule to talk with us here at Wonderland reviews. Any parting words before you leave us? Thanks so much for letting stop by! If anyone’s interested, I’ve written a companion short story to Monster Hunter. Matt Archer: Monster Summer is currently free on Smashwords (and hopefully free on Barnes & Noble and Amazon once the price matching goes through). It includes the first chapter of Monster Hunter, so you can try a sample. Oh, and don’t forget to check for monsters in your closet…

Monday, October 29, 2012

The Devouring (Kavachi's Rise) by Mike Kearby

Synopsis:
A Dark Secret. Thomas Morehart and his sister, Kara are vampyre, not the undead, but creatures evolved over hundreds of thousands of years to mimic their prey, man. Then - rescued from a Nazi Prison Camp, Thomas and Kara are brought to the U.S. and forced to work inside government-owned mortuaries. Now -betrayed by the government sixty-seven years later, Thomas and Kara are in a race against time to transform back to their feral states or risk Exsanguination by government sanctioned hit squads

Review:
It is hard to figure out a description to go along with this book. Most of the time you can attach a tag to a book after reading it and keep it in a certain genre, but this is not the case. It is so hard to figure out which category this book could fit into, because although it is a vampire book it is not the typical vampire story.

This book gave me odd dreams after I read it, perfect for this time of year when all the little ghosts and goblins come out to play.

I also liked the historical parts they slipped in there. The WWII aspects where unique and very intriguing.

This tale was dark and beautifully woven, a cautionary tale not to be read right before bed.  I loved how the attention to detail pulled me into the story so deep it was hard to come back to reality without jumping at shadows.

Rating:
5 Raven's.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

YA Mythology Giveaway Hop!


I have been a huge fan of mythology since before I can remember, I am pretty sure my parent's read to me the ancient legends of the past.

So, to help pass on the word to some great books, here is what is up for grabs.

Prize Pack #1
Two winner's will have this option to get the e-copy of Vala Agendas by J.F. Jenkins and Destined by Jesse Harrell.







Prize Pack #2
 One winner will have the chance to win a paper back copy of Every Day by David Levithan and some authographed surprse Swag.
 
 
Rules:
Must be 18+ to enter or have parental consent.
You can only enter once. Any false information left will result in void entry.
You have 48 hrs to respond to the email or I will be forced to pick another winner.
We are NOT responsible for items lost or damaged in the mail.
Most of all Keep on Hopping!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Lost Immortals By Kasonndra Leigh Tour Stop

Synopsis:
It has been fifty-five years since the angels of the Apocalyptic War attempted to wipe out humanity. Now a new nation has been built where alchemy is forbidden, and angels fear for their lives as they hide among the mortals.

The city’s leaders share one view on the ancestors of angels: shoot first, no questions.

When her twin brother falls into a strange coma, sixteen-year-old Chela Prizeon vows to discover her role among these exiles, the royal angels known as the Lost Immortals.

Chela’s only hope lies with the mysterious, but infuriating leader of a rebel group. But can she trust this boy, someone who can control her dreams and her heart.

Escape into a world filled with celestial creatures, fascinating villainy, high-stake choices, and forbidden romance.


Review:
I have mixed feelings about this book, I didn't like it nor did I dislike it. I find myself somewhere in the middle of the two.

In a world where angel blood's are feared and hunted down to be eradicated it seems the system is somewhat lacking when all of a sudden it seems there are Tainted and Angel blood's in ever nook and cranny.

I did like the various elements added into the book, and the twist on Ale-meds as well as The Beast.

The book itself however felt like it was going on forever. It seemed to drag on for me despite enjoying bits and pieces of it.

It was a pretty good read if you didn't mind pushing through the mud of it, but it definitely wasn't a one sitting finish.

I enjoyed the love element that develops in the story and how real it seems instead of pink rose colored glasses that other books make out a romance to be.

Rating:
3.5 out of 5 Ravens.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

6 Seconds of Life by Tonya Fitzharris Tour stop!

Synopsis:
Maura has just jumped.

Now she has precisely six seconds until she hits the water below her--just six more seconds until she is finally freed from her mundane and aimless existence. Freed of all of the regrets and disappointments that have haunted her throughout her nineteen years.

She just needs to be free.

But as she falls, the most pivotal points of her life start to replay like a movie in her head: her family falling apart, her first love, her first heartbreak, and her first betrayal. As she remembers these moments that brought her to this point, will she feel a sense of peace? Or will her death be her greatest regret?

"6 Seconds of Life" is a new adult novel that not only explores the ups and downs of college life, but the ups and downs of life as we know it.


Review:

Everyone has that moment in life where they hit rock bottom, where the light not longer gets through the darkness of the life.

In this book, one girl actually follows through with those dark thoughts and jumps. In those six seconds before her life will be snuffed out we are taken back to see what finally pushes her off the edge and into that dark abyss that people struggle to get through.


This book was a very dark read, and it was so realistic that it makes you want to look at the person next to them and wonder what was going on in their lives and if they are struggling just like you have been.

This was kind of ironic given two people in my life have succumbed to the dark thoughts and lost their hope and last month was Suicide Awareness month, which I took part in putting up links and such to help other's be aware and help with the grief.

I enjoyed this book because of how real it was.

Rating:
4 out of 5 Raven's.

Monday, October 22, 2012

Spooktacular Giveaway Hop!

It is that time of year ladies and gentlemen! It is my second favorite holiday, Christmas being my first.
There are so many nifty costumes and decorations, I truly feel that if Christmas and anime convention and birthdays/anniversary weren't right around the corner in the same month, I would go broke.

I just love the creativity parent's/ kids find when creating costumes or decorating. This year I am handing out candy again at my work place, I was Darth Vader last year and scared the poor dear's, this year I am more friendly, I am going as Misty from Pokemon, complete with papercraft Pokemon and an Actual togepi. I am sure you can imagine my excitement.




  So, Here is what is up for grabs my lovely.
I am going to have two winner's.










1.  Winner will get a print copy of Dearly Beloved by Lia Habel and Another winner will win  a Print copy of The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin



Rules:

   1. You must be 18+ To enter.

2. You can only enter once.
3. All extra information needed will be verified and if not correct all entries will be void.
4. We are not responsible for books lost or damaged in the mail.
5. Winner's will be notified by e-mail and have 48hrs to respond before someone else is chosen in their stead.
 6. Keep on Hopping and enter one of the other giveaways!
 
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Cleopatra Ascending by Maureen Lipinski Review

Synopsis:
Sweet Sixteen = You're a Queen

Despite living with a shaman, a witch, and a muse for sisters, Rhea Spencer feels like a normal teenager-even if she is the reincarnation of Cleopatra. But all that changes on Rhea's sixteenth birthday, when her visions of the Egyptian queen start unraveling a very different version of history, and Declan, a hot representative of the secret Order of Antony, shows up on the doorstep to keep her from being kidnapped. Together, Rhea and Declan travel to Egypt to stop the Octavians, a dark cabal trying to tap into Rhea's growing powers. The cabal seeks to access the magic deep below the desert sands, a potentially devastating force that only Rhea can protect


Review:
I don't think I could even imagine a life with a family as paranormal as the main character's Rhea's. A  mother who has spirit guides that constantly tattle on the girls. It would have to be horrid, not to mention knowing all your life that you are the reincarnation of Cleopatra.

This book seemed like it was part of a series but for the most part it is fine being read on it's own. You don't seem to have missed much that the author does not explain along the way.

It did however remind me allot of the movie "The Mummy". After reading it I had the urge to watch it to the point I searched my movie collection to no avail.  Battles with the undead, reincarnated lover's, and secret sect's.

The only complaint I have is that there were certain parts in this book that seemed unfinished and/or rushed. Leaving me frustrated and wanting more depth or description.

Rating:
3.5 Out of 5 Ravens.

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Alice in Wonderland by Robert Gill/Zenoscope

Synopsis:
The one thing known is that her time spent in a world full of insanity left her a broken adult. However, her courageous will to survive is what ultimately saved humanity.
Now the story of Alice’s visit into Wonderland is fully revealed and the truth of the terror will be told in full!
From Raven Gregory, Ralph Tedesco, and Joe Brusha, the minds behind Grimm Fairy Tales and Return To Wonderland, comes the series that Zenescope fans have been waiting for!
Follow Zenescope back down the rabbit hole and discover a world of madness like you've never seen before!

Review:
This is an Alice and Wonderland for adults, from the scantly clad women with large chests to the gore that accompanies the usual inhabitants of Wonderland.

It is definitely a  twist on the tale I have grown up with and loved. Truly a tale that would inspire nightmares and madness, I can understand why certain darker friends of mine found the graphic novel to be one of their favorites.

 What I liked most about the graphic novel was the start of each chapter. The picture's were absolutely beautiful, I could see the pictures hanging on my walls. I also liked the editors note telling what issues facts could be checked in or read more about.

Unfortunately this unique twist was not for me. The gore and the psychotic tendencies that were way to out there and advanced for me, I prefer the wonderland where some good came from the occupants.

Rating:
2.5 Out of 5 Raven's

Friday, October 19, 2012

Every Day by David Levithan Review

 

Synopsis:
In his New York Times bestselling novel, David Levithan introduces readers to what Entertainment Weekly calls a "wise, wildly unique" love story about A, a teen who wakes up every morning in a different body, living a different life.

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.

It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

With his new novel, David Levithan, bestselling co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day


Review:
This is a book I would recommend to every single person I could possibly come across.

It is a book that takes you into the lives of different people, different sexes and styles and puts you in their life for one day, making you sit back and think about the difference's of everyone and the struggles that they go through from day to day living.

I think on of my favorite aspects of this book was how the author explained having a mental disorder like ADD or being depressed and how it was a fight with your body every single day.

Or when A was in the body of a very obese man and how embarrassed he was. It didn't matter that it was only a day but it really put thing's in perspective.

I liked that the ending was not the same cookie cutter ending I was expecting. It actually threw me because I know so many ending's have those happily ever afters's so many reader's crave.

This book was compellingly unique, and brilliantly written.

For once there isn't a single thing I found wrong with this book, there is nothing I would change. I loved everything about it.

Rating:
5 Raven's out of 5!

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Mark of the Witch by MAggie Shayne

Synopsis:
From New York Times bestselling author Maggie Shayne comes the first novel in her thrilling new trilogy, THE PORTAL She was born to save what he is sworn to destroy...

A lapsed Wiccan, Indira Simon doesn't believe in magic anymore. But when strange dreams of being sacrificed to an ancient Babylonian god have her waking up with real rope burns on her wrists, she's forced to acknowledge that she may have been too hasty in her rejection of the unknown. Then she meets mysterious and handsome Father Tomas. Emerging from the secrecy of an obscure Gnostic sect, he arrives with stories of a demon, a trio of warrior witches-and Indira's sacred calling. Yet there's something even Tomas doesn't know, an inescapable truth that will force him to choose between saving the life of the woman he's come to love-and saving the world


Review:

There are plenty of jokes about it.  A Rabi and a Priest walk into the store, eat lunch, yada yada yada. I bet there were not jokes about a Priest  and a Witch eating lunch together, much less falling in love.

As the past is rushing to catch up with Indy, her friend and fellow Witch Rayne contacts her brother, Thomas, who just so happens to be a priest on the look out for what he is told to be a doomsday prophecy.

But when bombs start dropping, and animals attacking and he finds not only is his heart on the line but that of his sister, then thing's start to come to head.

This book was full of twists and turns that left me on the edge of my seat and ready for more. Shayne once again gave a great delivery of suspense, fantasy and comedy all wrapped into one neat package.

Favorite Quotes:
" I have little boobs. Nice, firm, little boobs."

2. One. Just one. My precious.

3.The smell of books was soothing. It was the smell of knowledge, preserved and passed on.

4. I flicked his Bic, smiling at the evil rhyme scheme that brought to mind.

5. "There's nothing chocolate can't fix, " I informed him." I wouldn't be surprised if it could make this alleged demon so happy he grows a halo."

6. Fuck off, voice reason. I hate you. I hate you back.

7. My yoda lowered her hood to reveal Darth Vader underneath.

8. "Maybe the Universe is going to keep throwing you together until you figure out that love is more important then anything else and treat it that way. And maybe you're both going to keep suffering until you finally learn it."

Rating:
4. Raven's.

Monday, October 15, 2012

Legacy of the Witch by Maggie Shayne Review

Synopsis:
Once upon a time, there lived three witches…"

As a child, Amarrah loved her grandmother’s stories of three witches who were members of the king’s harem—but they were more than just stories. Amarrah knew she had been there with them…and now their legacy, along with an ancient box that once belonged to them, lies in her hands.

Charged with keeping the box safe, Amarrah is heartbroken when it is stolen from her while she moves to America. Years later, she is shocked to see it on TV and is determined to get it back. Tracking the artifact leads her to Sergeant Harrison Brockson, a handsome soldier who stirs memories of a man she knew centuries ago in ancient Babylon. Is Harrison the key to finding the box—or could he be her destiny?

Prequel novella to Maggie Shayne’s exciting trilogy, "The Portal


Review:
So I was not sure what to expect when picking this book up, it actually took me a second to realize it was a prequel to a book I was already reading, so of course I stopped reading that and focused on this book alone.

I have been a fan of Maggie Shayne for a while now. This book wasn't a let down when it came to expectations.

Reincarnation can be a tricky subject to brooch because you don't know which life to give the most attention to and often I have found the books containing such subjects lacking, this was not the case in Legacy of a Witch.

I loved that the love the two main character's felt would travel with them through their life time's and destiny draws them together.

It is interesting to see how things  start out and it is a book well worth the read.

Favorite Quotes:
"It was my first kiss. And I heard a whisper inside my mind, a vow. I will never forget this moment, this feeling, not even if I live a thousand thousand lifetimes."

Rating:
4.5 Ravens

Derailed by Alyssa Ivy Rose

Synopsis:
When you're lost, sometimes the only place you can go is home.

Broken over the death of her fiancé, Molly leaves law school to return to her childhood home in North Carolina. Expecting to lay low until she can figure out what else to do with her life, she finds herself in the arms of her high school sweetheart, the boy who represents everything from the past she tried to leave behind.

Looking for an escape, she instead finds a way back to the girl she almost forgot existed and a future she never dreamed possible


Review:
This is late getting up, and for that I do apologize. I had trouble snagging the computer from the fiance and by  the time he was ready to get off of it, I was sick and tired and just went to sleep.

Anyway, I read this pretty good book called Derailed, I have read books by this author before so I knew what I had in store for me when picking this book up. I was not disappointed with my choice either.

Derailed is a swoon worthy book that makes you think back on your first Love's, your high school sweet hearts and the loves that went bad and wonder the what if scenario's.

I loved this book and finished it in one sitting, I lost myself in the sweet romance that was Molly and Ben and I fell under the spell of this book that kept me captivated and tugged at the heart strings.


Rating:
4.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

The Dark Lady by RJ Hore Review (Tour Stop)



Synopsis:
The only surviving child of a murdered king, young Princess Nefesti must take up the throne of Vadio, though she is deemed to young to rule. Knowing that her surviving relatives all wish to seize control of the realm, Nefesti must contend with princes and delegates from rival nations that seek to swallow up her once mighty realm.

Review:
After reading so many young adult novels, you get use to a certain style of writing so it was very refreshing to loose myself in the rich adult world that quickly became the child queen Nefesti's life as she battled withs with her Uncle's numerous plots to gain the crown and power over the land, escaped assassination plots and kidnapping attempts, and avoiding arranged marriages all the while trying to do what she thought was best for her people and the land that was her birth right.

It is an intriguing world depicted beautifully by the author and the only problem I had waswith the italicized print at the begging of each chapter. It was hard to tell if it was a quote, where it was coming from. And often I skip the quotes that are put at the begging of each chapter. So once it became clear where it was coming from I found myself going back to pay a little attention to it.

I would have liked some more description to have gone along with the words the person was saying, even if it was just to explain it a little better. I realize that would add considerably to the book but it wasn't until the very end that the significance of the words came out and I feel that other reader's might do as I did, and skip over it thinking it lacked in importance when in reality it is the exact opposite.

Rating:
4 Raven's

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Demons by Heather Frost

Synopsis:
Kate's life is far from normal. She can see Auras, her boyfriend is immortal, and her powers make her a target. But now that the Demon Lord is hunting her, things are about to go from dangerous to truly deadly. Packed with action, mind-blowing plot twists, and characters you can't get enough of, this is a fast-paced, heart-pounding read from cover to cover.

Review:
Imagine falling in love with a boy who could never die, who never fell ill, who held the power's of regeneration so there is no chance that you will have to watch him die, that your love could be snatched away from you suddenly without a warning.
It is everyone's fear and quickly it becomes Kate Bennet's as Patrick, her Guardian and love contracts a fatal disease despite the assurance that guardians where immortal.

This book drew forth a variety of emotions for me, some good, and some bad.

So, lets get the good out of the bad out of the way first so the good can take that sour taste from things.

The first thing that bothers me, as it does in any book. Is the way the relationship is portrayed between Patrick and Kate. There is the whole age difference, that even with the "Twilight" series was  a huge problem for me, but more then that it was the way the two would act around each other in this writing.

It was such an unhealthy co-dependent relationship that it caused more then a little concern for the impressionable youth that could possibly be reading this because I don't want to think of my little sister being afraid to hang out with someone, that she would have to ask her boyfriend before doing anything. I understand running it by him so he knows where she is, and inviting him, but that is a partner ship, not an ownership like it seemed Patrick and Kate have. Whats funny is that at times I can't tell who owned who.

The Second thing that bothered me was the general stereotypes, whether it came from accent's to ethnicity, it was pushed to the point that it came off aggressive and somewhat racist. I can understand the point, if someone says Hispanic there is a general image portrayed with it, the same with anyone of Asian decent or a Texan accent. It is just a fine line to walk, especially when writing.

The final thing that really bugs me more then the other two, was how selfish Kate is, she seriously never learns to listen and the end result is something tragic befalling those she loves most. All of them should learn to listen and put people's needs above their own wants sometimes.

Now. On for the good.

I loved the Time travel. There were just key details that sealed the deal for me and made me sit back and think about how excellently things were being wrapped up.

I read this book while I was at work, and wouldn't you know it, as the climatic parts started winding up I would get a customer and be forced to put the book down. It is one of those books that when the good part's occur, they really occur and stick with your thoughts all through out the day.

I love the small romantic things that occurred as well, despite the creepy age factor there were still some really sweet moments that I would love to be spoken or done for me in real life.

**POSSIBLE SPOILER DO NOT READ AND SKIP TO THE RATING AND FAVORITE QUOTES IF IT MATTERS**

The ending was my favorite part. The death of a key player seriously had my eyes welling up with tears as they fell down dead before our eyes. It was so  masterfully executed that my heart ached as the character's stopped beating.

Rating:
4 Raven's

Memorable Quotes:
1. Kate shined the light right at him, and he froze and flinched. "Wow, thanks allot. It's not like I was attached to my retina's or anything..."

2. "You need to go. We can't leave a bored Toni lying around-there's no telling what he'd do."

3. "Or maybe your morning breath scared the virus away. You were breathing on me all night after all."

Savage by Willow Rose

Synopsis:
The year is 1983. Christian is 22 years old when he leaves his home in Denmark to spend a year in Florida with a very wealthy family and go to med-school. A joyful night out with friends is shattered by an encounter with a savage predator that changes his life forever. Soon he faces challenges he had never expected. A supernatural gift he has no idea how to embrace. A haunting family in the house next door. A spirit-filled girl who seems to carry all the answers. An ancient secret hidden in the swamps of Florida. One life never the same. One love that becomes an obsession. Two destinies that will be forever entangled.

Savage is a paranormal romance with some language, violence, and sexual situations recommended for ages sixteen and up


Review:
This book surprised me from start to finish, a task that is not an easy thing to accomplish these days.
When I first picked this book up, I was disappointed, and as my eyes scrolled along the text I figured I would end up skimming pages, it would be the same old paranormal romance deal. Boy was I wrong.

Rose elicits a variety of emotion as we are taken on a roller coaster ride through the entire book.
 I love that it was from a P.O.V. not often explored, and while it took away some of the suspense of thing's it was still an interesting take that not to many author's are willing to risk. Obviously it paid off.


The main character had it all and I was so sure that I would not be a fan of him for that reason, I was so sure I would be able to predict his every movement and thus become bored with a book that I was going to have to force my way through. Luckily that was not the case as each of his actions left me stunned at the way the author was taking things.

So, for a world full of vivid imagination and magnificent detail I would recommend this book.

Rating:
4 Raven's.


I Will Also be giving this book away. You can enter by submitting a post comment below on any subject or even just saying hi. This will be an e-book format and the contest lasts until October 14th so hurry up and leave me a note!!

Disclaimer


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of numerous Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by the Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*