Current Giveaways!

Check Back Later Please.

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

The Defiance A.G. Henley book blitz

About the Author:
A.G. Henley is the author of the BRILLIANT DARKNESS series. The first novel in the series, THE SCOURGE, was a finalist for the 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Award.

A.G. is also a clinical psychologist, which means people either tell her their life stories on airplanes, or avoid her at parties when they’ve had too much to drink. Neither of which she minds. When she’s not writing fiction or shrinking heads, she can be found herding her children and their scruffy dog, Guapo, to various activities while trying to remember whatever she’s inevitably forgotten to tell her husband. She lives in Denver, Colorado.

Author links:

Interview With The Author:
1) What is The Scourge about? Did you have any interesting moments while researching the book?

In The Scourge, Sightless Fennel must face terrifying, flesh-eating creatures called the Scourge, in order to gather water for her people, the Groundlings, as they hide from the creatures in caves near their forest homes. Fenn’s Sightlessness is supposed to mysteriously protect her, but she hasn’t been tested. Until now.

I did learn some interesting things while researching The Scourge. I can’t tell you the most interesting thing I learned, because it is a big spoiler. It had to do with how the Scourge became the way they are . . . But, I recently had the opportunity to do some hands-on research into archery (Peree, Fenn’s Lofty Keeper and the male protagonist of the series, is an archer.) My fingers are still red and a little sore from releasing the arrows!

2) As I read The Scourge, I thought it was refreshing for Fennel, the heroine, to have a physical disability. Where did the idea to make her Sightless come from?

I can’t remember exactly when the idea came to me, although it was before I started writing the manuscript. I thought it would be cool to feature a protagonist with a disability. I’d read widely in the YA genre and couldn’t think of many books that had a disabled main character. As for making her blind, I was influenced by Ivy in the film The Village. I love the way Ivy and her family and friends seem to accept her blindness as just a part of who she is. It is a challenge to be sure, but it doesn’t define her. The film often gets a bad rap, in my opinion. I loved it—especially the setting and atmosphere.

3) I know this may be a tough one, but which character is your favorite?

Oh, that’s not too hard. I love Fennel. She’s who I wish I could be: strong, brave, intelligent, responsible, concerned about others, family and community oriented, non-judgmental. And yet still fully human, I think, with as many insecurities and small concerns as any seventeen-year-old.

I also had a blast developing Moray’s character in The Defiance. He’s an antihero—deliciously self-centered and arrogant—while still adhering to his own code of ethics and values. They just aren’t the values most other people share (thankfully.)

4) The character names are unique and refreshing, how did you come up with them?

I wanted the character names to reflect something about the groups they came from. In my series, there are two main groups of people—the Groundlings, who live on the ground, and the Lofties, who live in the tops of the trees. They are locked in an uneasy, sometimes violent, symbiotic relationship. The male Groundlings have animal names (Bear, Eland), the female Groundlings have plant names (Aloe, Rose), the male Lofties have bird names (Peregrine, Petrel) . . . and then I ran out of steam for naming the female Lofties. I eventually decided they would be named for something in their environment (Moonbeam, Dusk). The Groundlings make fun of the female Lofty names, which was really me making fun of myself for not being able to think of anything better!

It occurred to me much later that by giving the characters these types of names, I also gave readers a sense of what the characters either look or act like. It’s a little heavy handed, but I think it’s also helpful when you write in first-person from the perspective of a blind main character who can’t describe the way other characters look.

5) If you were a character in the series, would you choose to live on the ground or high up in the trees?

I think I’d choose to live in the trees, where I could have a view and catch the breezes. But mostly I would want to have the choice, unlike the characters in my books.

6) The Defiance—the second installment in the Brilliant Darkness series—released on July 29th. Did you plan the novel before writing The Scourge, or did you wait to see how the first installment faired?

I published The Scourge last year without being at all sure I would write another book of any kind. It took me months to decide to write a sequel. I am a pantser (meaning I don’t outline or plot books before I write them) so I had only a vague idea of where I would take the plot of a sequel. I actually had a much better idea about what a third book would include. But usually when I let my mind wander the ideas start to flow, and that’s what happened with The Defiance.

7) Speaking of The Defiance, what can fans of The Scourge expect in this second installment?

Fennel and Peree are determined to be together in the protected village of Koolkuna, and Fenn feels strongly that it’s their responsibility to bring their people, the Groundlings and Lofties, back with them. When she receives a frightening message—a pair of dead, bloody animals gutted and nailed to the wall above her bed—she realizes that not everybody is willing to go along with her plan.

8) Tell me three things that you loved about writing The Scourge and The Defiance.

Allowing my imagination to run wild
Spending time with my book children, especially Fennel and Peree
Learning about the craft of writing fiction and the business of publishing

9) Post-apocalyptic and dystopian fiction are popular sub-genres in the literature world right now. Why do you think people enjoy them so much?

I think it’s intriguing to read about and imagine how you would react if you were put in these kinds of dire situations. Would I make the same decisions the heroine does? Would I feel the same way she does? Or would I decide to do something wildly different? Reading gives us a safe (and fun) way to explore those decisions.

10) Finally, what’s on your summer reading list?

Ooh, good question. I agree with the scores of other people who have said writers should spend almost as much time reading as they do writing. I love reading, so it’s been a treat to turn a hobby into something I have to do for “work” ; )

I recently devoured the first two books and the novella in Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series. SO good. I also read and loved Mary Robinette Kowal’s Glamourist Histories series. I have an affinity for historical fiction already, but write in the style of Jane Austen and throw in some magic, and I’m utterly hooked. Now I’m starting on indie author Chelsea Fine’s The Archers of Avalon series. Her books won a bunch of awards at the utopYA convention where I was a panelist in June. I try to read a mix of both traditionally published and indie-published authors. I also mix in a few classics. I re-read Oliver Twist and The Great Gatsby in the last few months.
Book One:
The Scourge by A.G. Henley
(Brilliant Darkness #1)
Publication date: January 31st 2012
Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult

Seventeen-year-old Groundling, Fennel, is Sightless. She's never been able to see her lush forest home, but she knows its secrets. She knows how the shadows shift when she passes under a canopy of trees. She knows how to hide in the cool, damp caves when the Scourge comes. She knows how devious and arrogant the Groundlings' tree-dwelling neighbors, the Lofties, can be.

And she's always known this day would come—the day she faces the Scourge alone.

The Sightless, like Fenn, are mysteriously protected from the Scourge, the gruesome creatures roaming the forests, reeking of festering flesh and consuming anything—and anyone—living. A Sightless Groundling must brave the Scourge and bring fresh water to the people of the forest. Today, that task becomes Fenn's.

Fenn will have a Lofty Keeper, Peree, as her companion. Everyone knows the Lofties wouldn’t hesitate to shoot an arrow through the back of an unsuspecting Groundling like Fenn, but Peree seems different. A boy with warm, rough hands who smells like summer, he is surprisingly kind and thoughtful. Although Fenn knows his people are treacherous, she finds herself wanting to trust him.

As their forest community teeters on the brink of war, Fenn and Peree must learn to work together to survive the Scourge and ensure their people’s survival. But when Fenn uncovers a secret that shatters her truths, she’s forced to decide who and what to protect—her people, her growing love for Peree, or the elusive dream of lasting peace in the forest.


Praise for The Scourge:
“Lovable and relatable heroine? Check.  Swoon-worthy, kick-butt hero?  Check.  Compelling romance that makes your heart melt and toes curl?  Check.  Captivating story and fascinating world? Check.  Eagerly anticipating the next book?  Check, check, check.”-- Refracted Light Reviewsblog review

Book Two:
The Defiance by A.G. Henley
(Brilliant Darkness #2)
Publication date: July 29th 2013
Genres: Dystopia, Young Adult

Read The Defiance (Brilliant Darkness, #2), the highly anticipated sequel to The Scourge (Brilliant Darkness, #1), a 2013 Next Generation Indie Book Award Finalist!

Suspicion Trust. Fear Compassion. Hate Love.
It hasn’t been long since Fennel, a Sightless Groundling, and Peree, her Lofty Keeper, fell in love and learned the truth: the Scourge, and their world, are not what they seem.
Fenn and Peree are determined to guide their people to the protected village of Koolkuna, but first they must convince them that everything they believe is a lie. An impossible task, especially when someone seems hell-bent on trying anything—even animal sacrifice and arson—to destroy the couple’s new bond and crush the frail truce between the Groundlings and the Lofties. Not everyone wants to uproot their lives in the forest, and those who stay behind will be left terribly vulnerable.
Fenn and Peree’s resolve to be together, and the constant threat of the Scourge’s return, push both groups to the breaking point. Unable to tell friend from foe, Fenn must again decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice to ensure the future of the people of the forest.
Only this time, the price of peace may be too high to bear.


Praise for The Defiance:
"Fans of The Scourge, you will not be disappointed with this sequel. The Defiance was thrilling, romantic, and full of surprises. Loved this book!"
-- Imagine a World, blog review

"I had very high hopes for this follow-up novel, and Henley DEFINITELY delivers in her sophomore release!"
-- Booking It With Hayley G, blog review

"I absolutely LOVED The Defiance! No, I
more than loved it! It was breathtaking, intense, romantic,
suspenseful . . . the list could go on and on!"
-- ARC review

Saturday, August 3, 2013

Lick by Kylie Scott

                               This book was acquired through


Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas’s plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure as hell never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is for certain, being married to rock and roll’s favourite son is sure to be a wild ride.

 I actually love this book SO much, it has probably made the top shelf of my favorites for the year.  I found myself in love with just about all of the characters the author created. The y all held such personality behind the words that it was almost like thinking about my own group of friends. I don't know if I could even pick out a favorite among them.

Ev wakes up the day after her 21st birthday, which she ended up celebrating with her best friend in Vegas, sporting a monster hangover almost as big as the wedding ring she finds on her finger. Talk about when good girls go bad. 

I thought that it was so sweet that her new rock star husband David wasn't black out drunk like she was when they decided to tie the knot and he actually meant to get married to her. The only problem is that Ev wakes up with no recollection of the night before and proceeds to vomit upon finding out about the marriage.

Going on their journey together as they discover their own hearts, was such a toe tingling, heart warming adventure. It definitely was a great rock and roll love story that proves that love if it is areal and both people are stubborn enough to fight for it, can conquer all. 

David turned  out to be such a sweet heart, even if his temper in a few scenes left me wanting to strangle him. Ev was so innocently sweet and untried I found myself smiling at every blush that touched the tip of her ears and applauding every time she stood up for herself. 

I could go on and on about this book forever but it would end with me giving away everything and this is definitely a book that you have to experience for yourself. 

 I will leave it on this note, I adored this unique love story and I would LOVE for a series to be developed.. The author's way of weaving such a sweet tale makes it so anticipating for a series that I cannot imagine the type of girls that would catch the rest of the bands heart's and be able to put up with their antics.

Interesting Quotes:
  1. " I don't like you making sense at this hour of the morning. Stop it."
  2. "Forget rest and stop giving the pizza dirty looks or you'll hurt it's feelings." 

Favorite Character:
 This is a hard title to give out because I fell in love with all of them but I think i enjoyed one more then the rest and that one would be Mal. His humor was a great ice breaker throughout the book and he really was a great friend and stand up guy. 

5 out of 5 Raven's!   

Friday, August 2, 2013

Bound by Night by Larissa Ione

                                 This book was aquired through
 The first installment in a sexy new paranormal romance series by Larissa Ione, author of the bestselling Demonica series!

Nicole Martin was only eight years old when the vampire slaves rose up in rebellion and killed her family. Now she devotes her life to finding a vaccine against vampirism, hoping to wipe out her memories—along with every bloodsucker on the planet. But there’s one thing she cannot destroy: her searing, undeniable attraction for the one man she should hate and fear the most . . .

A member of the renegade vampire MoonBound Clan, Riker is haunted by demons of his own. When he recognizes Nicole and remembers how her family enslaved his loved ones, his heart burns for vengeance. But when he kidnaps Nicole and holds her in a secret lair, his mortal enemy becomes his soul obsession, his greatest temptation, and, perhaps, his only salvation—a hot-blooded lover who could heal him with her touch . . . or bury him forever

 Despite this being a fairly good book, there is one huge aspect of it that I just could not wrap my head around and that was the fact that the author created the vampires and made them slaves to humans. I mean, how does that work, humans, the thing's they eat, weaker life forms and they are still slaves. Even defanging vampires still EAT humans, they have super strength and in this series they even have powers. I just did not understand how that worked but I would love to read a prequel explaining how it came about.

Another thing that was interesting was the toxicity of Boric Acid to vampire and how through research and study it was turned into a weapon to control them. I am curious on the chemistry of it and why it is considered poison to the vampires, how it kills them.

I will say this, this book felt a little bit like a Vampric Soap Opera, going up and down with one twist after the next and personally I had no problem with that. I love reading drama's when they are done right.

I think the most interesting scene was the defanged chef feeding on Nicole as a child in the begging, I could not even imagine the trauma of having to go through such an event and surviving. 

Interesting Quotes:
  1. "Maybe my magic vagina will cure you of all the traumatic acts my family inflicted on you."
  2. "I figured no one would randomly pick up anything they thought was full of superstinky bat shit."
Favorite Character:
I think my favorite character would have to be Myne. There is so much I want to know more about him and I just loved his personality. I truly hope the next book is about him and what happened to him because that is one I would love to sink my teeth into. 

4 out of 5 Raven's! 


Saturday, July 27, 2013

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater


Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after..

A lot happened in this book, it definitely was not a short read. There where so many twists and turns that I actually had to take notes so i wouldn't forget anything and even with those notes I still don't know where to start.

This time the author focused on Ronan and the important role he plays with the ley line and the magic that surrounds it. More then that though, we learn more about Ronan in general. It turns out he isn't the jerk he likes to pretend to be. He is actually a young man that cares for his brothers, yearns for the home he has been banned from and worries over his mother who appears to be in a never waking sleep like everything else on the property. Though when the twist surrounding his mother's ailment comes to light my heart actually broke a little for him as he learns about it. 

Ronan also learns more about his ability to take thing's out of his dreams and make them into reality. He learns how to hone his natural born gift, what it really is and the consequences of stealing things from the woods and that he is not the only one with his power, but he may be the only one who will be using the gift responsibly. A fact that becomes apparent as an epic battle between dream monsters commence thanks to the other with Ronan's ability. 

Taking a step back from Ronan there was also some interesting developments with this books supporting character's, Blue in particular seemed to be flip flopping all around. She is starting to develop a crush on Gansey, one that he finds himself returning but neither is willing to admit out loud to one another let alone to themselves as they struggle with what they are doing to Adam through the entire book.  Adam himself seems to be having his own problems this time around, including loosing time and wondering off and violent outbursts as he looses himself. 

Out of the entire book however, my favorite scene would have to be with Noah and Blue alone in Gansey and Ronan's house. Just a heads up reader's the next little paragraph will include a small spoiler. 

As Noah questions Blue about her kissing curse the opportunity arises that he is already dead so kissing him can't hurt. After a couple disastrous yet humorous attempts, where Blue actually relates it to kissing a dishwasher, they finally get it right and Blue realizes what she has been missing all along by playing it safe. That soft sweet sigh of getting a kiss just right, the kind that melts your heart and curls your toes as you beg for more because of how sweet and gentle it is.  It was so sad when Noah looks at her and says softly that if he where alive he would ask her out, and how Blue's reply would be that she might say yes right before he disappears. It seriously is just one of those scenes that reminds you of missed opportunities in life and to cherish  the life you do have. 

Another relationship comes to light in the book between Mr. Gray, who I can't decide even in the end if he is going to be a good guy or a bad guy who changes because he falls in love on accident, and Maura, Blue's eccentric mother. 

The worst part of the book would have to be the last page, and that was only because the book literally ends in a cliff hanger that left me wanting to tear my hair out. I both love and hate cliffhangers because they are so frustrating but they are pretty much a guarantee that I will tune into the next book to find out what happens. As well as to figure out who this Orphan Girl in Ronan's dream world is. 

Interesting Quote:
Spoken between Blue and Calla.
"You're being creepy," Blue said "Maybe you mean to be but in case you're just being accidentally creepy, I thought I'd let you know." 

Favorite character:
Hands down would have to be Noah, he is just so sweet and lost it seems like. 

4 out of 5 Raven's!   

The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton


Fans of Neil Gaiman's American Gods and Holly Black's The Curse Workers will embrace this richly drawn, Norse-mythology-infused alternate world: the United States of Asgard.

Seventeen-year-old Soren Bearskin is trying to escape the past. His father, a famed warrior, lost himself to the battle-frenzy and killed thirteen innocent people. Soren cannot deny that berserking is in his blood--the fevers, insomnia, and occasional feelings of uncontrollable rage haunt him. So he tries to remain calm and detached from everyone at Sanctus Sigurd's Academy. But that's hard to do when a popular, beautiful girl like Astrid Glyn tells Soren she dreams of him. That's not all Astrid dreams of--the daughter of a renowned prophetess, Astrid is coming into her own inherited abilities.

When Baldur, son of Odin and one of the most popular gods in the country, goes missing, Astrid sees where he is and convinces Soren to join her on a road trip that will take them to find not only a lost god, but also who they are beyond the legacy of their parents and everything they've been told they have to be.

I absolutely love the Norse Mythology that this book is structured around. It is such a refreshing change of pace then reading the typical Greek mythology that has become so popular. Anyone who has read my reviews know that I am a huge mythology buff, so I was ecstatic to have won this book and gotten a chance to review it. 

I would have loved to see a bit more character and plot depth however. It all just fell flat for me, as if someone was relating the days events in a list. I didn't find myself captivated or relating to the character's. 

This book has so much potential, as does the series and given the mythology aspect I intend to check out the next instalment with hopes that there will be something else other then the mythology to keep it afloat for me like it did for this book. 

2 out of 5 Raven's. (Just not for me) 

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Burning by Elana K. Arnold

Ben: Having just graduated from high school, Ben is set to leave Gypsum, Nevada. It's good timing since the gypsum mine that is the lifeblood of the area is closing, shutting the whole town down with it. Ben is lucky: he's headed to San Diego, where he's got a track scholarship at the University of California. But his best friends, Pete and Hog Boy, don't have college to look forward to, so to make them happy, Ben goes with them to check out the hot chick parked on the side of Highway 447. 

Lala: She and her Gypsy family earn money by telling fortunes. Some customers choose Tarot cards; others have their palms read. The thousands of people attending the nearby Burning Man festival spend lots of cash--especially as Lala gives uncanny readings. But lately Lala's been questioning whether there might be more to life than her upcoming arranged marriage. And the day she reads Ben's cards is the day that everything changes for her. . . and for him


I was attracted to this book because of the gypsy aspect of it. As a fan of the television show " My Big Fat American Gypsy Wedding" and other shows of that sort, I already knew a bit of gypsy history and I was curious to see how it would play out in the written world. 

It was a little concerning to see how the gypsy males where portrayed in the story. They all seemed controlling and a little abusive, given how little is known about Gypsy's it made it come across that this is how all the men act, and it very well could be but until it is a fact I would have liked to see at least one male that was a good role model.

I did like how it seemed to keep to the gypsy tradition and heritage.  And I think my favorite part out of the entire story had more to do with Ben's little brother coming out to Ben then either of the two main character's. I actually wished that the book had had more of him in it or gone deeper into his story.

Overall I am stuck in the middle with this book because I neither loved nor hated the book, I am just kinda meh when it comes to it.

3 out of 5 Raven's. (It was ok.)

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

The Elite by Rachel Van Dyken

When I won the annual Eagle Elite College Scholarship lottery, I was thrilled. After all, my grandma had just died and I wanted to take care of my aging grandpa -- he couldn't be a farmer in Wyoming forever. And graduating from Eagle Elite meant opportunity.

But I wasn't counting on meeting Nixon.

Nor was I counting on the rules of the Elect.

1. Do not touch The Elect.
2. Do not look at The Elect.
3. Do not speak to The Elect.

And worst of all? Don't discover the secret they hide, because in the end, you may just realize... it's about you.

*This is a New Adult Book, blood, violence, cursing, sexual references, and drug use. Not recommended for those under 17*


 I loved every single thing about this book. It is full of steamy action that kept my eyes glued to the pages as I eagerly devoured Trace's story and took the journey to discover the truth with her.

Rachel Van Dyken truly hit the mark in every single way with this book. I mean what more can you ask for when it comes to something swoon worthy, you have pages filled with hot guys, piercings, tattoo's, knights in shining armor and then there are the mob bosses and violence that gets your heart pounding.

I loved that with each character I found myself getting attached to them, there was not just one that drew my interest, but all of them. I wanted to know what made them tick, I wanted to know more about them.

I wanted to know why Nixon had those rules put in place, why he even got away with being the way he was and running things the way he did, or why he ran things the way he did. Most of all I wanted to know what his issue with being touched was.

I wanted to know why Chase was so nice to Trace when it was obvious that it was going to cause nothing but trouble.

I loved that Trace didn't back down from Nixon when she first met him, she didn't let herself be pushed and bullied by his threats. She might have been scared but she stood up for herself. She was such a strong character.

The plot twist I sadly saw coming but even still I found it enjoyable and the predictability of it didn't take away from the storyline. I cannot wait for the next installment in the series and I intend to look more into book written by the author.
Rachel Van Dyken has a made a new fan out of me!

5 out of 5 Raven's!

Favorite Charrie: Chase, for being so sweet and so chivalrous. For always breaking the ice and making me laugh.

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan

 After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris.

In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties, and, disturbingly, the house Ingrid’s twin brother, Grayson, found for them isn’t a house at all. It’s an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures.

And Grayson has gone missing.

No one seems to know of his whereabouts but Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home.

Ingrid is sure her twin isn’t dead—she can feel it deep in her soul—but she knows he’s in grave danger. It will be up to her and Gabby to navigate the twisted path to Grayson, a path that will lead Ingrid on a discovery of dark secrets and otherworldly truths. And she’ll learn that once they are uncovered, they can never again be buried

Thoughts on the cover:
This cover had a lot going on in one tiny space, but surprisingly not only did it all work together with giving a hint to the story within, it fit together beautifully. I think this is one of my favorite covers this summer actually.

The colors blend in an eye catching spectrum that thankfully if you judge a book by it's cover, does the story justice.

I was a little wary of this book when I won it from Random Buzzers, I have yet to read a gargoyle story mainly because when anyone has ever mentioned a gargoyle and paired it with the word romance, all I can think about is the cartoon.

It didn't sound to appealing.
Sure for a cartoon it as a great source of entertainment as a child, but given the book category, I was not sure if the author was going to be able to carry the point across without coming off with a creepy erotica vibe that doesn't exactly float my boat.

As I cracked open the book and settled in for a good read while on bed rest, I was really surprised with how quickly I was dragged under and stuck in the world. Page Morgan designed.

It was a very creative idea and one that the author was able to pull off flawlessly. The words flowed together in a beautiful siren song that kept me hooked and devouring page after page.

This is one of my summer reads that I will be recommending all year round.

5 out of 5 Raven's.
Want to know more? You can read a chapter sampler here:
The Beautiful and the Cursed by Page Morgan Chapter Sampler 

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Mortality by Kellie Sheridan

 After surviving a deadly plague outbreak, sixteen-year-old Savannah thought she had lived through the very worst of human history. There was no way to know that the miracle vaccine would put everyone at risk for a fate worse than un-death.

Now, two very different kinds of infected walk the Earth, intent on nothing but feeding and destroying what little remains of civilization. When the inoculated are bitten, infection means watching on in silent horror as self-control disappears and the idea of feasting on loved ones becomes increasingly hard to ignore.

Starving and forced to live inside of the abandoned high school, all Savannah wants is the chance to fight back. When a strange boy arrives with a plan to set everything right, she gets her chance. Meeting Cole changes everything. Mere survival will never be enough

This book was mediocre for me.
Perhaps it is the pregnancy, perhaps it was just a bad day to be a reviewer, but I found myself struggling to really get into the book until it came to the last few chapter's, and even then everything seemed so fast paced and as if there was no background to anything.
Events just seemed to happen without any explanation, without any reason, they happened just because the writer wanted it to be so. Relationship's bloomed in the blink of an eye without any real foundation.

My favorite aspect of this book was that it went back and forth between two girls, and kept going back and forth between them even as one was bitten and turned into a super zombie. I loved that they kept going into the minds eye of the super zombie.

3 out of 5 Raven's.

The Sh!t No One Tells You by Dawn Dais

 There comes a time in every new mother’s life when she finds herself staring at her screaming, smelly "bundle of joy" and wishing someone had told her that her house would reek of vomit, or that she shouldn’t buy the cute onesies with a thousand impossible buttons, or that she might cry more than the baby.

Best-selling humor author Dawn Dais, mother to a one-year-old and author of The Nonrunner's Marathon Guide for Women, is convinced that there is a reason for this lack of preparedness. She believes that a vast conspiracy exists to hide the horrific truth about parenting from doe-eyed expectant mothers who might otherwise abandon their babies in hospitals and run for it. In The Sh!t No One Tells You, Dais tells it like it is, revealing what it’s really like to be a new parent and providing helpful insights, humor, and hope for those who feel overwhelmed by the exhausting trials they’re suddenly facing. Eschewing the adorableness that oozes out of other parenting books, Dais offers real advice from real moms—along with hilarious anecdotes, clever tips, and the genuine encouragement every mom needs in order to survive the first year of parenthood.

I think there is only one way to describe this book.
For those of you that don't know, it is Laughing my fucking ass off rolling on the floor laughing.

You wouldn't expect that to come from a baby book, I certainly didn't expect the helpful hints and information to have me laughing outright but this occured many a time through out this book. In fact I found myself reading out passages to my husband as he played on the computer so he could share in a laugh or two with me.

This book actually cheered me up immensely as I read through it in a day, unable to put it down as I absorbed every bit of witty information the woman wrote about. Much of the information was thing's I already knew from my experience raising my sibling's but never before had I come across someone who put it in such a way.

I have actually found myself quoting it to the close friends and family excited for the birth of our daughter in October and telling them that this book is a must have or at least a must read.

It is spunky, full of humor and information.

5 out of 5 Raven's.

Secret for a song by S.K. Falls

 Saylor Grayson makes herself sick. Literally.

She ate her first needle when she was seven. Now, at nineteen, she’s been kicked out of college for poisoning herself with laxatives. The shrinks call it Munchausen Syndrome. All Saylor knows is that when she’s ill, her normally distant mother pays attention and the doctors and nurses make her feel special.

Then she meets Drew Dean, the leader of a local support group for those with terminal diseases. When he mistakes her for a new member, Saylor knows she should correct him. But she can’t bring herself to, not after she’s welcomed into a new circle of friends. Friends who, like Drew, all have illnesses ready to claim their independence or their lives

For the first time, Saylor finds out what it feels like to be in love, to have friends who genuinely care about her. But secrets have a way of revealing themselves. What will happen when Saylor’s is out?

There is always something about a book that draws you into picking it up and contemplating reading the author's story.
For me and this book it was in the synopsis, to be exact this quote from netgalley "She ate her first needle when she was seven."
I know what you are thinking, that is a weird thing to be drawn to, so let me explain, a very good friend of mine suffered with self mutilation, and there was many a time through out high school that he would show me the results of his bored nights or his hurting nights, or he would come to me and whisper in his ear that he had a needle in his stomach. I wouldn't hug him for days until I was sure it was gone.

I was drawn to the book because of that simple sentence of nine words, I was held captive by the masterful way the author wove the web.

This book is very dark, but it is so beautiful in the way that it is exactly how life is. Most books are written under the context that life is happy go lucky, full of fluffy corners, this is not the case and this book can be a testament to it.

This book brings to life the struggles of those suffering with fatal disease's and how judging them, pitying them is the last thing they want. They want to be just like everyone else, and through the struggles you join them in their life of sorrow and pain. This book also brings to life the hard truth of living and the fact that most people live for those rare glimpses of light at the end of the tunnel moments that make every single hard moment worth it.

I fell in love instantly with this book because of how honest it was written, for the ending that makes perfect sense and as it came to be I still found myself stunned that someone would write it that way.

It is a must read but with a word of warning that this is not a happy book. There are happy moments but it is also filled with sad dark ones as well.

5 out of 5 Raven's

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

The Elite by Kiera Cass

 Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending

To say this was a book I waited for eagerly would probably be an understatement. Given my location, which is in the middle of nowhere, I knew the stores I frequented would not carry it in stock and I knew it would take to long to arrive in the mail. I know, I know, I waited months for this book what is one or two more days, but it simply would not do. 

So as midnight rolls around I am waiting on the Amazon website to purchase the book for the kindle, only to find that it was not in the right time zone and I had to wait longer. It was a disappointing night and bed time lol.

This book was an eye opener for me. Before in the first book I would have been Team Maxon all the way but just as if he were a real person it goes to show you that you never know what is really going on with someone until you really get to know them. 

I think my heart broke with America during each traumatic even that opened her eyes to what life would really be like if she chose him. 

It is hard to write this review because there is so much I want to talk about but I don't want to give anything away, I want you guys to read it and have to deal with the suspense and heart ache the same way I did, without a clue as to what would happen next.

I will say the only thing that I wish could have been improved on is the other girls background. I understood before with so many girls it would have been impossible to do without having an incredibly long and side tracking book but as the choices are narrowed down I would love to know more about the other girls and what makes them tick, particularly Celeste. 

I also would love to understand the rebels more and trying to figure out what they are after and why is a delicious mystery that America seems to be tapping into.

This is a great read, even if it was over before it seemed like it had begun. I finished it within four hours of sitting outside on the porch swing enjoying the day and getting sun burnt since time got away with me as I got lost in the work.

5 out of 5 Ravens!

Explination for my absence.

So, as most of you know I was a pretty dedicated blogger with my reviews. So it might have been a shocker to notice the lack of activity and the sound of crickets chirping away on the site. For that I sincerely apologize. Life got a little crazy and I got a little depressed.

I found that in my depression I didn't want to read, I didn't want to write and alot of that had to do with the biggest news ever in my life. I AM PREGNANT. 16 weeks to be exact as of today actually and I got married. So between working 12 hour shifts and the exhausting first trimester I found it hard to do anything.

Then I get fired for being pregnant. Lol ridiculous I know.
But I have been reading and I do promise that posts shall be resuming ASAP!

Sorry once again for just vanishing and I thank those of you who have stuck by me in this time.
You guys truly are the best!

Friday, February 8, 2013

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater Review

There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before

I won't lie, before I even picked up this book I had been going back and forth on it. This was just not a book that was calling to me.

Eventually reading it won out, mainly because I am a huge fan of the author, I hadn't had a chance to read any of her YA works, I Am not really sure if there is any YA Work done by her...
Anyway, thanks to getting stranded in Ohio for the anime convention because of some bad food poisoning, this book won out.

It wasn't a bad read either, it made me regret dragging my feet when it came to cracking open the pages.

It had a unique take on the ghost and witches, even if it was a little bit predictable, but it is hard to surprise me any longer. The ending panned out like I expected it to but the work put into the description and lay out made it worth pushing through the book.

I think one of the most fascinating aspects of the book where the charachters, they were so well rounded and they seemed to have such personality it was like walking down the street and peeking into someone else's life. I also loved the creativity that came along with many of the names, or the fact that Blue, our heroine, is not allowed to kiss anyone due to a prediction that the one she falls in love with and kisses will die. 

I definitely enjoyed it and wished it was a part of the books that grace my shelves. Once again the author did not disappoint. This page turner will leave you glued to your seat and begging for more at the turn of the last page.

4.5 Raven's out of 5 Raven's (Really good)

Spellbinding by Maya Gold (ARC Review)

 There's more than one way to be powerful . . .

It is during a routine school project that Abby Silva--sixteen and nearly friendless--makes a startling discovery: She is descended from women who were accused of witchcraft back in 1600s Salem. And when Abby visits nearby Salem, strange, inexplicable events start to unfold. Objects move when she wills them to. Candles burst into sudden flame. And an ancient spellbook somehow winds up in her possession.

Trying to harness her newfound power, Abby concocts a love potion to win over her longtime crush--and exact revenge upon his cruel, bullying girlfriend. But old magic is not to be trifled with. Soon, Abby is thrust headlong into a world of hexes, secrets, and danger. And then there's Rem Anders, the beautiful, mysterious Salem boy who seems to know more about Abby than he first lets on.

A reckoning is coming, and Abby will have to make sense of her history--and her heart--before she can face the powerful truth.

I am not completely head over heals when it comes to this book. It isn't poorly written, nor does it grab my by the heart strings and keep me invested right up until the finish.

I enjoyed the information that was given about the Salem Witch Trials, and how the girl was pushed into a certain direction because of a homework project that set everything into motion, it definitely puts it into focus about how fate can work and if one string is plucked the rest can trickle into places.

The witch aspect in the book however was kind of bland, this seemed more like teenage drama and a show I would see on The CW or another sitcom show. The same can be said about the characters, the fell a little flat and predictable for me.

There is that insecure little witching, who discovers her powers and with it the power of self esteem who is suddenly seen in a better light, who is dealing with the typical trouble in the family with daddy getting a new girlfriend.

There is that dreamy jock all the girls wants who is invested in that horrible mean girl with her two best friends who are just as mean and decide to pick on the girl who doesn't know herself yet.

There is the geeky best friend who still gets the guy she wants because of how golden she is.

It was a good read, but it was one that I easily could have said what was written on the next page

3 Raven's out of 5 Raven's (It was ok.)

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

 She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I'd tell my sister no.
I'd never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I'd zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I'd hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I'd tell them I love them.
I wish... Yeah, I wish

Where do I start?

Lets see, I guess I could start by taking the time to mention that I haven't read a book by Gena Showalter that I have not enjoyed. She really is a talented writer I am proud to have on my bookshelves to read over and over again.

Alice and Zombieland was a slow starter for the first chapter for me, I thought that it being a new genre for me when it came to Gena Showalter that I wasn't going to be a fan, you know since they have those hit and misses every now and then.

Thankfully that was not the case, I quickly became invested in this book and it is now resting on the favorites shelf.

Don't be fooled, this book is not a zombie take on Alice in Wonderland, there are similarities but I loved that that was it when it came to the story. There is a white rabbit, and parts where Alice's world gets turned upside down but that is about it.

This book is a must read for zombie fans and YA genre lovers everywhere.

5 out of 5 Raven's!

Friday, January 25, 2013

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

 For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana AbĂ© brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this book, to be honest I couldn't even remember what it was going to be about. I was bored and at work, so I took a spin in the document tab for my Kindle, my finger just so happened to land on this book.

It was very unique on it's take with the dragon culture, or at least for me it seemed very unique, I have never really gotten to invested in a dragon series. 

I think my favorite part was where stones made music to their ears only, each stone a different song, I can only imagine the beauty that could come from it, and the annoyance that I could only imagine that came from never getting a moment of peace. 

It was sad to hear how Lora thought she was insane because of everything she had been told from the side effects of having so much dragon blood.

The one part I actually hated about the book and got very upset over was the ending. If Kindle's where cheaper or I had read the book in print I probably would have thrown it across the room. I wanted to scream, it was a great way to end but it left me so frustrated because it was not the ending I wanted.

4 Ravens out of 5 Ravens.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Highlander Most Wanted by Maya Banks

 In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.
Genevieve McInnes is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure in ruining her for any other man. Yet when Bowen Montgomery storms the gates on a mission of clan warfare, Genevieve finds that her spirit is bent but not broken. Still, her path toward freedom remains uncertain. Unable to bear the shame of returning to a family that believes her dead or to abandon others at the keep to an imposing new laird, Genevieve opts for the peaceful life of an abbess. But Bowen’s rugged sensuality stirs something deep inside her that longs to be awakened by his patient, gentle caress—something warm, wicked, and tempting.

Bowen seizes his enemy’s keep, unprepared for the brooding and reclusive woman who captures his heart. He’s enchanted by her fierce determination, her unusual beauty, and her quiet, unfailing strength. But wooing her will take more than a seasoned seducer’s skill. For loving Genevieve, he discovers, means giving her back the freedom that was stolen from her—even if it means losing her forever

This is a book full of sweet romance that will have you sighing as your heart strings are pulled on when you hear the story of young Gwen McInnes's life under the cruel hands of a monster known as Ian McHugh.

I requested this book from netgalley, not knowing it was a second in the series, despite it being the second it is a book that is worth reading as a stand alone. I didn't find myself lost for one minute, it was as if it was just starting out on it's own.  Which for Gwen and Bowen it was.

With steam rolling off of the pages in some of the naughtier scene's, it was not all toe curling pages full of erotic images, it has a great story line that is well thought out and heartbreaking.

It is definitely a book I am glad to have come across and hopefully kept to memory if not gracing my shelves.

Being introduced to a new author is always a thrilling and scary thing since you can never tell how their writing style will fit with your reading style. Thankfully with this book it was worth taking a chance because I am now a fan and look foreword to reading more of her work.

5 out of 5 Ravens!


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of numerous Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by the Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*