Current Giveaways!

Check Back Later Please.

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Keurig 2.0 Vox Box!



















Before I start I would like to explain that this was a complimentary product given to me in exchange for testing and a review!

I was very excited to hear that I would be a part of this vox box, especially since I had been look through coffee maker's because my husband and I only drink warm drinks in the winter.

When I took the survey I did not think they would be sending the entire machine, which retails over a hundred dollars. So it was a surprise when up drove that fed ex truck and dropped off our package. My husband still doesn't believe that I got this for free.

















We immediately tried it out after dinner, choosing to brew some hot cocoa to see how it worked when not using the little cafe pods that come with it.

Set up was easy, simply taking off the tape and plugging it in. The only part I had difficulty with was the water filter and taking off the mesh holder. I struggled a little bit because it felt thin and I was afraid I would break it before I had even had a chance to use it.

The water warmed up quickly and in under 5 minutes I believe, I had a cup full of steaming water.

My only problem with it was that there were only two cup sizes, 4 and 6 oz. And I could not brew an entire coffee pot of hot water.


The next morning after a long night with my one year old, who still does not sleep through the night, I was more then excited to choose from the cups and get a boost of caffeine in my system.
Starting it was easy, I just chose a pod, lifted the handle and chose my cup size.

This product comes with a touch screen that is easy to navigate through.

Once more the only problem I had was that I had to choose a cup size, I could not use the coffee canister that came with it. I worry that it will spill over and I did not want to clean up a mess. But over all this product is going to be well used in my house, I am excited to try the tea and cocoa the company provides.




Rating:
4 out of 5 stars!

Friday, September 5, 2014

This Beautiful World by Elisabeth Jackson Interview and Review Blog Tour

Title:This Beautiful World
Author:Elisabeth Jackson
Pages:290
Genre:Romance, Suspense, Mystery
Version reviewed:E-book provided by Enchanted Tours for an honest review.
Publication:July 23rd 2014 by Astraea Press


















 About the Author:
Elisabeth Jackson loves the outdoors and dogs, rescued dogs in particular. This Beautiful World is her debut novel and blends haunting childhood secrets, romantic themes, second chances and a mystery in a small town setting, with a dash of Gothic elements. When she is not writing small town Romances and Mysteries, she works as a freelance business writer. Her characters are inspired by the rural towns she has visited and lived in. She welcomes readers to connect with her at ejacksonbooks.com and Facebook.com/ejacksbooks.




 Interview with the Author:


1. Thank you so much for taking the time to speak with us today at Wonderland Reviews, what made you get into writing?
 
   A. Reading Joyce Carol Oates when I was in high school. Her short story “Heat” made me want
    to be a writer.
 
2. How do you come up with the names for your characters?
 
   A. For this novel, one character’s name is a family name. For some of the other characters, I
   wanted to pick old-fashioned sounding names to convey a sense that the town hadn’t
   changed much over the years. 
 
3. Do you have certain music that you found yourself listening to while writing this book?
 
   A.Sometimes I will listen to music while I’m writing, and I genuinely enjoy many kinds of music
   depending on my mood. For this book, I listened to R&B/Soul, a little Indie rock, and even  
   modern country music!
 
4. How would you have reacted if you had been one of the young people to find the body?
 
    A.When I was younger, I was a bit shy like King, but like RaeAnne, I was a tomboy. I 
     probably would have told an adult I trusted.
 
5. It says that you like dogs, do you have a favorite breed?
 
    A.I love all dogs, but mixed breed dogs, especially rescues, are my favorite. My own 
    dog is a miniature poodle-hound mix.
 
6. what do you do when you have writers block?
    
    A.I work on another project. I usually have multiple writing projects going on at once,   
    and find it helpful to work on a different one if I get stuck.
 
7. What does it feel like to be a published author?
 
     A.This Beautiful World is my first published book. It’s a good feeling, but it doesn’t stop there.  
     I have a New Adult series launching in December 2014, am working on a romance novella,
     and plan to write many more stories.
 
8. What are you scared of the most?
   
    A. Bugs that bite/sting!
 
9. Do you have a particular ritual you have to participate in when you are writing?
 
    A.Yes. I drink lots of coffee—both hot and iced—with flavored creamer.

Thank you for taking time to stop and chat with us here at Wonderland Reviews. Now that you have heard from the author lets hear about the book.

Synopsis:
 As children, RaeAnne and her sidekick King were held captive after they discovered the body of a boy their age in a crate of apples in their small town’s peculiar orchard. Now RaeAnne is grown and the mother of a troubled young daughter. After her mother is killed in an accident, she travels home to her father with her daughter. But RaeAnne finds that she is not welcomed by everyone, and frightening incidents start to happen involving her and her family. As RaeAnne unravels the mysteries of her childhood, including what happened to her older brother, who vanished on the same night RaeAnne and King found terror in the orchard, she reunites with King. The boy she knew has grown up to be very handsome and guarded. But can the two ever be more than old friends who share a terrifying secret?

Review:
 I actually became consumed by this book, if I was not reading it, I was thinking about it and wondering what was next. Which is rare for me. This book is still rough around the edges but there is enough suspense in the book that as I went about my  daily going on's and being a mama, I could not help my wondering eye from going to my Kindle and trying to find more time to read a page or two.

I liked that it brought up the trauma that some kids deal with when their parents get a divorce and that it does not mean the end of the world, you just have to deal with it.

I like that King was such a sweet heart despite so many people looking down on him and his family, or thinking he was a weirdo.

I enjoyed that even though there was a happily ever after ending I saw coming a mile away, the events leading up to it where rocky and even though they were expected I was curious to see how the characters where going to get themselves out of the situations.

I actually expected the big secret surrounding the body would have to do with a cult more so then the actual reason, even if it was less dramatic. lol.

Rating:
4 out of 5 Stars!
 Brought to you by =====>

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Cover Reveal Party! To The Stars by Tiaan Lubbe

Author Bio:

Tiaan Lubbe lives in Pretoria, South Africa where he spends his time teaching little monsters, directing  plays, doing what he calls writing and dreaming up the future. Mostly all at once.

About To The Stars:

Title: To The Stars
Author: Tiaan Lubbe
Genre: Dystopian / YA / NA / scifi
One boy. One girl. One world about to end.
When the world finds out its inevitable end will come in sixty years, it seems like all hope is lost. Until a man steps from the darkness. He offers salvation, but demands total control. The world accepts.
Sixty years later, the old saviour’s son is leader and watches over the last proceedings of his father’s plans – Seven Ark ships called the Astrum Portas.
Noah is the next leader. He doesn’t want to be.
Zara is the girl he’s in love with. She doesn’t know it.
Three lives become complicatedly intertwined when a bomb on the Astrum Porta unexpectedly throws them into a whirlwind of secrets, forbidden love and violent clashes all while the looming apocalypse approaches rapidly.
The final adventure awaits…

Links

Friday, August 22, 2014

Entangled by Nikki Jefford

Title: Entangled
Author: Nikki Jefford
Pages:303
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, YA
Version reviewed: E-book purchased from Amazon.
Publication:February 20th 2012 by Nikki Jefford (first published February 19th 2012)
Website:Author Website HERE
Add the book on goodreads:HERE

Goodread Synopsis:
Two months after dying, seventeen-year-old witch Graylee Perez wakes up in her twin sister Charlene’s body.

Until Gray finds a way back inside her own body, she’s stuck being Charlene every twenty-hour hours. Her sister has left precise instructions on how Gray should dress and behave. Looking like a prep isn’t half as bad as hanging out with Charlene’s snotty friends and gropey boyfriend.

The “normals” of McKinley High might be quick to write her behavior off as post-traumatic stress, but warlock Raj McKenna is the only person who suspects Gray has returned from the dead.

Now Gray has to solve the mystery of her death and resurrection and disentangle herself from Charlene’s body before she disappears for good

Review:
I chose to ex this off of my T BR list for multiple reasons. The cover is breathtaking, it was discounted on amazon and I had requested to review the second title in the series so I figured I had better read the first.


I am glad I did, because even though it is the typical two witches, one is good one is bad , twin sister vibe. I actually liked that what most people would consider the bad boy to be turned out to actually be the good guy.

I liked the foreshadowing to how crazy Charlene  really was. 

I thought it was clever to put into the story that only one soul could occupy the body, and that all magic had a price. 

I figured out how Gray died before it was actually said, practically saw it coming in big neon letters really, but it was still interesting that she thought the best of her crazy twin until there was no room for error when it came to how crazy her sister really was. It really goes to show what the love of family will do for you.

I am actually looking forward to the next installment of this series because I want to see what Gray will do now that things have changed and how she will pull it all off. 

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars!

Tuesday, August 12, 2014

Bayou Blues by M.M Shelley Blog Tour Interview and Review

About the Author:
M.M. Shelley is a storyteller, word smith and dreamer. MISHAP AND MAYHEM, a captivating story of faerie's and magic, is her debut novel. She has traveled the world extensively in search of the magic which is often overlooked in every day life. M.M. Shelley is a native of southern California, and a student of mythology from which she gets much inspiration.

Visit M.M. Shelley at her blog:mmshelley.blogspot.com

   1. It says that you have studied mythology, do you have a favorite pantheon or group that you find yourself relating to, if so why?

That would be Greek Mythology, the stories, myths and legends drew me in and I was just fascinated by the structure. There are so many great stories today that are influenced by Mythology.

2. What has been your favorite place to stay during your travels.

My favorite place to stay was the Le Pavillon Hotel in New Orleans. Our hotel room was upgraded without us asking; after we checked in they told us that they were giving us a complimentary upgrade. I had such a great time at this hotel that Ava, in Bayou Blues, stays at this hotel.

3. What is one piece of technology you could not live without.

My phone, I’d be lost without it!


4. Did you have any specific songs you found yourself listening to while writing this?

I did, I listened to Etta James;
Trust in Me
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwWJgHEcMrs&hd=1

Fool that I am
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dr-mygCDaf0&hd=1

The Band Perry Post cards from Paris
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cO3PQ5onovo&hd=1

And Creedence Clearwater Revivial: Born on the Bayou
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f775c_KgXE0&hd=1
These are just a few of the songs that I listened to while writing Bayou Blues.



5. when you are writing, do you have a specific setting or food you find yourself munching into?

I’ll sometimes forget to eat and just survive on coffee! I’ll notice the time when I reach for my coffee only to find out its cold and then I’ll go see what I can find in the fridge. I like to keep fruit on hand, depending on what’s in season I usually go for, peaches, strawberries and pineapple.

6. Out of all of the creatures found in the fantasy genre which do you think are the most horrific and most glamorous.

That would be the dragon; there is just something about the dragon that speaks to me. It’s both beautiful and dangerous.

7. Out of all of your creations, who do you find yourself relating to the most and why?

Ava, from Bayou Blues and that’s probably because she’s the character whose story I’m currently working on. It seems to be that way with which ever character I’m focused on.


8. Did you enjoy the first days of school growing up or did you dread them?

I’d say I enjoyed them; I always looked forward to catching up with my friends.

9. Out of all of your characters, who has been the easiest to write for?
Orlando Drake from the Chronicles of Orlando, his character has really grown.

10. Thank you for stopping here at wonderland Reviews and taking time to answer a few questions, do you have any last words for the readers or any advice for the budding authors out there?

Thank you so much for having me on your site today! I had a great time answering your questions and sharing Bayou Blues (A New Orleans Mystery) with you and your readers. My advice is to always follow your heart and not to be afraid of taking chances!

Synopsis of the book:
Sixteen year old orphan, Ava Lopez, has returned to New Orleans, Louisiana, just as a dark entity has taken residence in the bayou.
Not only does Ava have to discover who or what is taking its victims from the Quarter, and leaving their remains in the Bayou. She will also have to maneuver her way around a new school and deal with a new bodyguard.
Ava will have to uncover the mystery before she becomes its next victim

Review:
I am on the fence about this book, on one hand there was a lot of action and I liked the use of the wolf spirit vs. the normal werewolf action I see in most paranormal books, but on the other hand I just found my self detached with this book.
It did not flow smoothly for me and because of that I kind of struggled to finish the book. It was an ok read, I would recommend it more for the early teens vs. the later teens and YA crowd. I did like the cliff hanger, that was probably my favorite part of the book if only because cliff hangers tend to make me want to read the next book as soon as possible. I would buy the next installment of the series if I had nothing else to read but it would not be at the top of my list.

Rating:
3 out of 5 stars!

                                                                                                                                                 
                                           

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

The Legend of Sheba: Rise of a Queen by Tosca Lee

Title: The Legend of Sheba: Rise of a Queen
Author: Tosca Lee
Pages:336
Genre:Literature/ Fiction (Adult)
Version reviewed: E-book provided by netgalley in exchange for an honest review
Publication:September 9th 2014 by Howard Books
Website:Author's Website
Wdd the book on goodreads:Here
Where to buy it at:Amazon

Netgalley Synopsis:
Her name is legend. Her story, the epic of nations. The Queen of Sheba. A powerful new novel of love, power, and the questions at the heart of existence by the author of the award-winning “brilliant” (Library Journal) and “masterful” (Publishers WeeklyIscariot.

There is the story you know: A foreign queen, journeying north with a caravan of riches to pay tribute to a king favored by the One God. The tale of a queen conquered by a king and god both before returning to her own land laden with gifts.

That is the tale you were meant to believe.

Which means most of it is a lie.

The truth is far more than even the storytellers could conjure. The riches more priceless. The secrets more corrosive. The love and betrayal more passionate and devastating.

Across the Red Sea, the pillars of the great oval temple once bore my name: Bilqis, Daughter of the Moon. Here, to the west, the porticoes knew another: Makeda, Woman of Fire. To the Israelites, I was queen of the spice lands, which they called Sheba.

In the tenth century BC, the new Queen of Sheba has inherited her father’s throne and all its riches at great personal cost. Her realm stretches west across the Red Sea into land wealthy in gold, frankincense, and spices. But now new alliances to the North threaten the trade routes that are the lifeblood of her nation. Solomon, the brash new king of Israel famous for his wealth and wisdom, will not be denied the tribute of the world—or of Sheba’s queen. With tensions ready to erupt within her own borders and the future of her nation at stake, the one woman who can match wits with Solomon undertakes the journey of a lifetime in a daring bid to test and win the king. But neither ruler has anticipated the clash of agendas, gods, and passion that threatens to IGNITE—and ruin—them both. An explosive retelling of the legendary king and queen and the nations that shaped history.

Review:
I don't often read books of this genre but something about this book called to me, perhaps it was the eyes on the cover that lured me in like they did so many a man that Bilqis(Sheba) came across.

I love so much of this book, I don't think I have a single bad thing about this book that I could come up with other then I want more!

It was like reading the pages of the girls diary or being right there next to her and experiencing all the beauty her world had to offer and all the pain that hid behind their veils.

One of the things that will draw a reader to this book is a strong independent woman who is a ruler in a time when women where nothing more then cattle to be bartered off. They thought they were going to get a Queen they could manipulate and marry off easily and instead they got Bilqis. A strong woman who conquered men without revealing her face.

I love that the ending is both a happily ever after and a heart breaker. I didn't want to root for a happy ending because I get sick of always reading them but this ending was one that satisfied every part of my readers soul.

I like that they fell in love with their words before ever setting eyes on one another. And people think online dating is a new thing. HAH! Bilqis and Solomon where pro's.

Seriously one of the best books I have read in months and that surprised me but once you read it you will understand why this is a must have on your shelves.

Rating:
5 out of 5 Stars!

Monday, August 4, 2014

Branded by Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki

Title: Branded
Author: Abi Ketner & Missy Kalicicki
Pages:384
Genre: Teens & YA
Version reviewed: E-book provided by netgalley in exchange for an honest review
Publication:
Website:http://www.abiandmissy.com/
Add the book on goodreads:Here
Where to buy it at:Amazon


Goodreads synopsis:
Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society. 

To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins. Sinners are forced to live a less than human existence in deplorable conditions, under the watchful eye of guards who are ready to kill anyone who steps out of line.

Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home. 

Constant darkness. 

Brutal and savage violence. 

Excruciating pain. 

Every day is a fight for survival. 

But I won’t let them win. I will not die in the Hole. 

I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

Review:
I had actually forgotten what this book was about, I just  saw that it was on the most requested page on NetGalley and figured if it was in high demand then the review would be as well. I have been trying to get my TBR pile down to at least a decent stack, a task I am afraid I shall never accomplish since I am constantly adding to it, but this was towards the top and this book became my choice for the day.

I actually binged read this book to the best of my abilities. If I was not taking care of my daughter you can bet your buns that I was reading this book and after looking  back at the synopsis this quote reminds me why I chose the book in the first place.

"Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me."

That sentence truly is genius because it snags a reader and draws them in with questions that are quickly answered. Yes the book is a little raw in the writing form but the story itself is brilliant.

The new world is run by the Commander, a man who believes himself to be pure and above all runs it so that anyone caught committing one of the 7 deadly sins gets branded a color that represents their sins and is sent to the Hole, a concentration camp of sorts.

The bad thing is that I could totally see this happening in the distant future given how some people act with their religion. It is just as corrupt as the system we have in place now however, if you have money you can send an innocent person to jail or escape the charges yourself.

I like so much of this book, I like that Lexi, our main character was struggling with this deep dark secret and still found a light in the darkness that was the pit. I like that Cole was suppose to be this big bad guard who is not suppose to have feelings but instead has a big sloppy Dog named Zeus, who was my favorite out of the entire story by the way, and does nice things for dying girls.

I also disliked a lot of this book, it seemed like the love that Cole and Lexi had came along really fast. It happens in books alot and it tends to be a pet peeve of mine since I am a firm believer that you don't really love someone until you really know someone and to know someone takes time. 

I also didn't like that one letter from her deceased father cleared up all the negative emotions Lexi has for her brother... it might just be because I hold a gold medal in holding a grudge and being vindictive but it just didn't sit right with me.

And sadly when the commander was revealed, I had already figured out who he was.

Still it is a worth the read but it is pretty fast paced.

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars!

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Dead Girls Don't Lie by Jennifer Shaw Wolf

Title: Dead Girls Don't Lie
Author:Jennifer Shaw Wolf
Pages:352
Genre: Teens & YA, Mystery
Version Reviewed: E-book provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
Publication: September 17th, 2013 by Walker Childrens
Website:Author's Website
Add The book on goodreads:Here
Where to buy it atAmazon Barnes&Noble


Goodreads synopsis:
Rachel died at two a.m . . . Three hours after Skyler kissed me for the first time. Forty-five minutes after she sent me her last text. 

Jaycee and Rachel were best friends. But that was before. . .before that terrible night at the old house. Before Rachel shut Jaycee out. Before Jaycee chose Skyler over Rachel. Then Rachel is found dead. The police blame a growing gang problem in their small town, but Jaycee is sure it has to do with that night at the old house. Rachel’s text is the first clue—starting Jaycee on a search that leads to a shocking secret. Rachel’s death was no random crime, and Jaycee must figure out who to trust before she can expose the truth. 

In the follow-up to her powerful debut, Jennifer Shaw Wolf keeps readers on their toes in another dark, romantic story of murder and secrets.

Review:
After reading the synopsis I figured that I would love this book considering it reminded me alot of one of my favorite television shows 'Veronica Mars,' I mean their plots are so similar you can't help but compare the two just by reading the summary. One friend dies and the other goes on an investigation to find out the true killer, whats not to love?

Apparently I was mistaken.

This book fell short for me, perhaps it was because I went into this thinking like Veronica but this book was one that I found myself struggling through.

Jaycee and Rachel are best friends, they decide to go to this old house one night where Rachel see's something and starts acting funny. She basically freezes Jaycee out and their friendship suffers because of it. They loose touch but six months later Jaycee gets a text message from Rachel asking for help but because they had not been talking she chooses to ignore it. The next morning she finds out that Rachel is dead. Feeling guilty for ignoring the text message, Jaycee goes on a hunt to find the real killer with help from the clues Rachel left her before she died.

Here is where my problems start off. I loved the way the setting's where created, the description's were fairly good until it came down to the actual character personalities. Jaycee is this shy quiet wallflower who is one that goes with the crowd, a follower if you will. So, when she gets this information that the murder was not gang related, why did she not go to the cops? Given she was told not to trust them, it didn't fit that shy, meek girl to go against that basic instinct and search for the truth.

Another thing that bothered me was the small town vibe. I originally liked it, being from a small town myself I figured it would be a setting that I could come to relate to and find myself enjoying but the racism that seemed to pop up was a little much. I think what really bothered me was that all the migrant workers didn't go to church and where bad or gang related vs. the Caucasian church goers where saintly angels.  

I have known plenty of people that I will classify as evil who are church goer's. It also didn't make sense that it being such a small town and not knowing the names of everyone in the school. Especially a kid who goes missing for six months. 

Sadly the twists and turns where extremely expected and I figured out the who done it before I was even halfway through the book. 

It had the chance of being a very great book, I think it was just executed poorly.

Rating:
2 out of 5 stars.


Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Alienated by Melissa Landers

Title: Alienated
Author: Melissa Landers
Pages:344
Genre:New Adult, Teens & YA
Version Reviewed: e-book provided by netgalley in exchange for an honest review
Publication:February 4th 2014 by Disney Hyperion
Website:Author Website
Add The book on goodreads:Here
Where to buy it at:
Amazon Barnes & Noble

Goodreads synopsis:
Two years ago, the aliens made contact. Now Cara Sweeney is going to be sharing a bathroom with one of them. 

Handpicked to host the first-ever L’eihr exchange student, Cara thinks her future is set. Not only does she get a free ride to her dream college, she’ll have inside information about the mysterious L’eihrs that every journalist would kill for. Cara’s blog following is about to skyrocket.

Still, Cara isn’t sure what to think when she meets Aelyx. Humans and L’eihrs have nearly identical DNA, but cold, infuriatingly brilliant Aelyx couldn’t seem more alien. She’s certain about one thing, though: no human boy is this good-looking.

But when Cara's classmates get swept up by anti-L'eihr paranoia, Midtown High School suddenly isn't safe anymore. Threatening notes appear in Cara's locker, and a police officer has to escort her and Aelyx to class. 

Cara finds support in the last person she expected. She realizes that Aelyx isn’t just her only friend; she's fallen hard for him. But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon Cara will be in for the fight of her life—not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet

Review:
It took me three tries to read this book, not to say that it was written poorly but because I was just pregnant. Which sums it up in a nutshell because while pregnant I didn't want to read very much and have actually just now gotten the drive back to get back into reading and reviewing.

I decided to try one last time in my effort to clear my TBR list that always seems to grow and started this over from the very start. It was a decision that I don't regret once bit because this book kept me fairly occupied when my child slept.

It actually reminds me of a better version of the television show "Starcrossed." Only this book seemed to focus more on the action then the inter species romance. The danger in this story is something that I would come to expect in an everyday setting when facing people with something unknown and fueling their fear with ignorance and hate.

I have read some reviews on this book and I will not lie I was kind of floored by how some people took this book. They didn't think it was creative because the planets where alike but they did not stop to think that in order to house a species so close to human kind the atmosphere would have to be similar. And they where not entirely alike, there was not as much color or scents as Earth. Same went for their food, it was all grassy and roots, the textures and the spices Earth used was to much.

I don't understand the bashing on the fact that the aliens where so alike except for a belly button and no pinky toe. It is obvious from the cover that they are gonna be extremely alike.

I think what my favorite aspect of this book was that unlike so many other books there was no instant romance. The characters did not fall in love at first sight, rather they disliked each other until they began to learn more about one another. I like that this book took the time, pretty much the entire book, to set up a good foundation for a relationship even through the lies.

Strangely enough I find myself excited for the second book which is a big step for me because I am not a huge fan of aliens novels. I am excited to see how they do on their separate planets with different people and different situations.

Rating:
3.5 out of 5 Stars!

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Second Star by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Title: Second Star
Author:Alyssa B. Sheinmel
Pages:248
Genre:Teen & YA
Version Reviewed: E-book provided by netgalley in exchange for an honest review
Publications:May 13th 2014 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Website:Author's Wesite
Add The book on goodreads: Here
Where to buy it at:
Amazon Barnes & Noble

Goodreads Synopsis:
A twisty story about love, loss, and lies, this contemporary oceanside adventure is tinged with a touch of dark magic as it follows seventeen-year-old Wendy Darling on a search for her missing surfer brothers. Wendy’s journey leads her to a mysterious hidden cove inhabited by a tribe of young renegade surfers, most of them runaways like her brothers. Wendy is instantly drawn to the cove’s charismatic leader, Pete, but her search also points her toward Pete's nemesis, the drug-dealing Jas. Enigmatic, dangerous, and handsome, Jas pulls Wendy in even as she's falling hard for Pete. A radical reinvention of a classic, Second Star is an irresistible summer romance about two young men who have yet to grow up--and the troubled beauty trapped between them.

Review:
Anyone who knows me or who has stopped by my page before, knows that I am a huge fan of fairy tale re-telling. In fact I actually hope to be struck with the inspiration stick and create one myself. I have a tendency to snatch up any re-telling that I can get my hands on and devour it for better or for worse.

This one was definitely for better. I thought the timing for this Peter Pan type setting was perfect as a friend and I had broached a topic  : What if Neverland was heaven and Peter Pan was a guardian angel who watched over children and escorted them to heaven, where the pirates were the demons trying to lead them astray and to hell.

I actually am in love with this version of Peter Pan. I loved the way the story rose and fell like a wave cresting on the ocean that the story took place on. 

In this book John and Michael are young surfers who become lost at sea and presumed dead. Their sister Wendy believes otherwise and where no bodies where ever turned up, she starts on a mission to find them and goes to the beach looking for her lost brothers. 

It is there she comes across Peter who teaches her how to surf, who takes her to an abandoned place called Kensington House I believe , where a bunch of other run a ways gather, Lost boys really, and  Belle.
I like how Tinker Belle was portrayed in this book. She was the jealous ex-girlfriend who is the only one who knows what happened to her brothers. True to her original character she is a snarky trouble maker who deep down is alright


!!!***SPOILER***!!!

 In case you didn't catch that littler sign above because you are skimming through, the following contains spoilers mainly because it is my favorite part of this book. Readers beware.







Ignoring the rule that no boats where to go out on the water because of how bad a storm was crashing down on the beach, the group decides to go out. During this time they loose control over the boat and Belle gets hurt, Wendy goes over board and the boat is lost.  Soon after Wendy wakes up in the hospital psych unit and is told that she was found on the Beach where her brother's boards had washed ashore originally. There was no sign of anyone else in the water. Belle, Peter, Jas, all of them where hallucinations caused by drugs or grief.

What floors me is that  that really could be the case. That is a rational explanation for everything and a huge mind blowing twist that left me totally unprepared and questioning every word I experienced with Wendy.

I won't spoil any more of the book for you however, to find out if it was all real or a dream you will have to read this great book for yourself.

Rating:
4 out of 5 stars!

Friday, July 25, 2014

Fangirl_15 by Aimee Roseland

Title: Fangirl_15:
Author:Aimee Roseland
Pages:288
Genre:New Adult, Sci-fi, Fantasy
Version Reviewed: E-book provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest Review
Website:Aimee Roseland on Facebook
aimeeroseland.blogspot.com
aimeeroseland.com
Published: July 8th 2014 by Aimee Roseland
Add the book on Goodreads:HERE
Where to buy it at:Amazon


Goodreads Summary:
Chloe is in love with Lucien.

He’s enigmatic, compassionate, generous and intelligent. Likes classical music just as much as kicking ass and knows his way around a kitchen, though he’d never admit it. His Samurai swords are an extension of his personality and a lifetime of heartache has taught him to wield them unfailingly. He’s gorgeous yet humble and can’t see past his own scars. 

Lucien feels deeply for his chosen family and is absolutely worthy of love.

Sounds perfect, right?

The only problem is that Lucien is a character in a novel.

The Dark Riders is one of the best selling paranormal romance series of all time, and it was destined to have eight installments, one for each of the brothers-in-arms. Lucien’s story was supposed to be book eight, where he’d finally find true love and live happily ever after. Except the writer died before his story was published. Worse yet, book seven was finished by some poser that thought killing off one of the main characters would bring a more modern twist to the finale.

Chloe is absolutely devastated by the news that one of her “friends” is dead and that the series is canceled. She has a quasi-nervous-breakdown at work and ends up falling asleep in the lounge. Her midnight escape from the locked office lands her in a deserted parking lot after hours where an unseen force has been waiting. Just. For. Her...

This supernatural assault strands her in an alternate reality where the Dark Riders are real and the horrible ending created by the publisher hasn’t happened yet.

Chloe decides that she’s been brought there to fix all of the story lines and tries her best to convince the monsters around her that she’s there to help. She ends up mangling their plots more often than not and now must race the waxing moon to find a way home before Lucien accidentally falls in love with her instead of his destined mate. The Fates are working against her as Chaos interferes and the truth about what really dragged her over threatens to destroy everything that Chloe holds dear.

Review:
I think I fell in love with this book before I even came to the first word. 
Any avid reader , or even a casual reader knows that part of the thrill that comes with reading is getting lost in a world that is not your own. Reading becomes an escape from reality, where you can be someone other then yourself. I know of more then one person, myself included who would love for their beloved series to come to life like Chloe got to experience.

I think what was so appealing about this book was that the characters she read about where not what she expected them to be when she came face to face with them. Chloe may have known all about the little intimate details in their lives, some even they were not aware about,  but she was treated like I imagine may people would be treated in real life when placed in the brother's shoes, as a threat. 

Part of what makes me love this book so much is that the author wrote it in a compellingly believable way. I was so tempted to pick up  one of my favorite series and see if I would be taken into the dimension they where created in. 

Another great aspect of this book was that unlike many other books, the main characters where flawed. They where not the barbie and ken, drop dead gorgeous  beauties that no one can really live up to like so many writers make their characters out to be. Lucien and Chloe had insecurities and scars just like an every day person would. 

The only downfall about this book was that it made me wish that I could read the very books Chloe read about the brothers that made her fall in love with them all. Their stories seemed like they would be just as fascinating.

Rating:
5 out of 5 stars

Disclaimer


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of numerous Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by the Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*