Current Giveaways!

Check Back Later Please.

Friday, January 25, 2013

The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

 For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.

England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.

Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.

Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this book, to be honest I couldn't even remember what it was going to be about. I was bored and at work, so I took a spin in the document tab for my Kindle, my finger just so happened to land on this book.

It was very unique on it's take with the dragon culture, or at least for me it seemed very unique, I have never really gotten to invested in a dragon series. 

I think my favorite part was where stones made music to their ears only, each stone a different song, I can only imagine the beauty that could come from it, and the annoyance that I could only imagine that came from never getting a moment of peace. 

It was sad to hear how Lora thought she was insane because of everything she had been told from the side effects of having so much dragon blood.

The one part I actually hated about the book and got very upset over was the ending. If Kindle's where cheaper or I had read the book in print I probably would have thrown it across the room. I wanted to scream, it was a great way to end but it left me so frustrated because it was not the ending I wanted.

4 Ravens out of 5 Ravens.

No comments:

Post a Comment


*Disclosure of Material Connection: I am a member of numerous Blog Tours and a copy of this book was provided to me by the author. Although payment may have been received by the Blog Tours, no payment was received by me in exchange for this review. There was no obligation to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own and may not necessarily agree with those of the author, publisher, publicist, or readers of this review. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commision’s 16 CFR, Part 255, Guides Concerning Use of Endorcements and Testimonials in Advertising*